Which banks tell you why they closed your account

Every bank can close an account. The difference is whether it tells you why, how long you get, and whether you can reach your money in the meantime. This page puts each bank's own closure terms side by side: 3 Clear, 22 Partial, 8 Silent, 4 Unknown out of 37 banks. The tag sits outside the CBL Score, like the Health tag.

Had an account closed? Report it anonymously and it counts towards the Reported column below.

Every bank, by closure policy

BankTagNoticeReasonsCrypto namedReported
BBVABBVAClearTwo months. The Cuenta Online contract (Información precontractual, version of 19 October 2025, clause 3.2 of the payment services conditions and the Cancelación de la cuenta section) says BBVA may cancel the account with at least two months' notice. No notice is needed in three cases: the customer has not supplied documents required under anti-money-laundering rules, the account was opened on incorrect information, or the customer has deliberately used the account for illicit purposes. An account with no movement for 24 months and no credit balance can be closed on the same two months' notice. The separate crypto service contract (Contrato para la prestación de servicios de Criptoactivos, version 01) runs on one month's notice from either side, or none for an AML or market abuse breach, unpaid fees or 13 months without activity; the bank informs the client of the termination (clause 7.3). BBVA Switzerland is different: clause 21 of its General Banking Conditions (version 08.2025) lets either side end the relationship at any time, with immediate effect if it wishes.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Deutsche BankDeutsche BankClearAt least two months. AGB Nr. 19(1) (Stand 03/2025): the bank may terminate the whole relationship or single products at any time with a reasonable notice period, taking the customer's legitimate interests into account; for a payment services framework contract such as a current account or debit card, and for a securities account, the minimum is two months. Nr. 19(3): termination without notice is allowed for good cause (wichtiger Grund), for example false statements about financial circumstances, a serious deterioration in assets, or failure to provide security; where the cause is a breach of duty, the bank must first set a cure period or issue a warning unless that is dispensable.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Xapo BankXapo BankClearTwo months. Clause 18.5 says Xapo Bank may close the account and end the agreement with two months' written notice. Clause 18.6 allows immediate closure without notice for listed grounds, including criminal or fraudulent use, 24 months of no transactions, inability to verify information, abusive conduct, refusal of revised terms, unpaid fees, insolvency, death, or any breach of the agreement.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
AMINA BankAMINA BankPartialNo notice period. Art. 26 says either the client or AMINA may terminate the business relationship with immediate effect unless expressly agreed otherwise. Art. 27 also lets AMINA restrict or cease services in full or in part at its discretion where it deems this required to comply with laws, sanctions, self-regulation, contracts or its own internal policies.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Anchorage DigitalAnchorage DigitalPartialNo ordinary notice period is published. Anchorage is institution-only and does not publish its custody agreement, but the standard Master Custody Service Agreement of Anchorage Digital Bank N.A. is on file with the SEC as an exhibit to ETF registrations (the form version of April 2026 and an executed copy of September 2024). Clause 4.2: either party may end the agreement for a material breach not cured within 30 days of written notice, and immediately for listed grounds. Clause 2.1: Anchorage may end it on 14 days' notice if onboarding is not completed. The no-cause termination sentence in clause 4.1 is redacted in every filed copy. For the Porto self-custody wallet (Anchorage Innovations, LLC, terms of 24 April 2026) clause 11.B gives 30 calendar days' written notice, or none for the listed grounds.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Bitcoin SuisseBitcoin SuissePartialNo notice period. Clause 27.1 (GTC v8.0, 1 November 2025) says both the client and Bitcoin Suisse may terminate the business relationship at any time with immediate effect in writing, unless a specific duration or notice period was agreed. Clause 25.3 adds an immediate termination right if the client becomes a U.S. person.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
BunqBunqPartialAims for at least two months' notice where possible; immediate closure is possible.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
ClearBankClearBankPartialInstitutional client terms only. Clause 41.1: from the first anniversary of the agreement either party may terminate for any reason on not less than 12 months' written notice. Clause 41.2: immediate termination for an unremedied material breach (30 days to remedy) or insolvency. Clause 41.3: ClearBank may terminate immediately for suspected fraud, unpaid amounts after 60 days, legal or regulatory risk, regulator direction, an unremedied suspension under clause 40 (30 day cure period), or a change of control it objects to.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
CommerzbankCommerzbankPartialThe bank can end the relationship with a reasonable notice period; for a payment service framework contract such as a current account or card contract, and for a securities account, the notice is at least two months (AGB Nr. 19 (1)). Termination without notice is allowed for an important reason (Nr. 19 (3)). If the important reason is a breach of contract, the bank must first set a cure period or give a warning, unless the case makes that unnecessary.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Cross River BankCross River BankPartialThe Deposit Account Agreement is referenced on the Regulation E page but is not published on crossriver.com. The only public termination clause is in the website Terms of Service: the bank may, at its sole discretion and without notice, restrict, deny, terminate or suspend the Bank Product or Site with immediate effect. No ordinary notice period is stated.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)not stated
LHVLHVPartialGeneral Conditions clause 14.4: either party may terminate by giving at least two months' notice. Clause 14.5: basic payment accounts for consumers also get two months' notice for lack of justified interest, 24 months without transactions or six months without sufficient funds. Clause 14.1 allows extraordinary termination without notice for a compelling reason, such as breach of the agreement, suspected money laundering, unproven origin of funds, sanctions, fraud or a supervisory authority's demand.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Liv · Emirates NBDLiv · Emirates NBDPartialClause 19.1(b) of the General Terms says the Bank gives reasonable notice of any closure, suspension or termination in accordance with applicable law, but no fixed number of days is stated. Clause 19.5 lists closure grounds and says written notice with reasons is given before closure, unless the closure is for suspected breach of law, fraud or financial crime prevention. Clause 4.2 also lets the Bank close, restrict or suspend any account at its sole discretion subject to applicable law.Yes, the actual groundno
MercuryMercuryPartialMercury Terms of Use section 13: Mercury may terminate the agreement or suspend the account at its discretion, and gives notice of termination or suspension only to the extent permitted by applicable law. The Choice Financial Group Commercial Deposit Account Agreement section 6 says either side may terminate at any time upon notice and the bank may close the deposit account at any time. No fixed notice period is stated. Accounts may first be locked while Mercury reviews activity or waits for requested information.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)yes
MoneriumMoneriumPartialClause 22.1: Monerium may suspend or terminate the relationship unilaterally, without liability, if it suspects you of violating the Terms, other terms, its internal policies or applicable law. No notice period is stated; you are notified electronically. Clause 3.3: suspension for breach comes with reasonable advance notice where the law allows, but can be immediate if your use could create legal liability or disrupt other customers. Clause 22.2: its payment partner (LHV) can direct immediate termination of the IBAN service.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)yes
PostFinancePostFinancePartialNo fixed notice period. Clause 19(a) of the General Terms and Conditions says the relationship runs for an indefinite term and either party may terminate in writing at any time. Clause 13 lets PostFinance restrict services or terminate the relationship with immediate effect for legal, regulatory, sanctions, compliance or security reasons.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Raiffeisen NÖ-WienRaiffeisen NÖ-WienPartialFor consumers the bank can end open-ended contracts, including current account and credit contracts, with two months' notice, given on paper or another agreed durable medium (AGB Z 22b). For business customers the notice is a reasonable period (Z 22). With an important reason the bank can end the whole relationship or single contracts with immediate effect (Z 23).By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
RAKBankRAKBankPartialNot stated on the pages found. The Current Account Key Fact Statement says the bank may close the account if KYC or identification documents are not kept up to date, under internal policies, or on request from a regulatory or judicial body, and that a returned cheque may lead to closure. It gives no notice period for closure; 60 days' notice applies only to changes in terms and fees. The full account terms document was not found online.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)not stated
RebindRebindPartialArticle 10 of the Terms and Conditions: Rebind may suspend or terminate access to all or part of the app and services at any time, with or without notice. Article 3 says that if a service is permanently discontinued Rebind will make reasonable efforts to give reasonable notice and offer alternatives. No notice period in days is stated.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
RevolutRevolutPartialAt least 60 days' notice by email before closing an account.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
ruyaruyaPartialruya may close an account for any reason at any time. In most cases it gives sixty calendar days' written notice and the reasons (clause 22.3). It can close without notice or reasons for persistent breach of terms, false information, suspected financial crime or fraud, illegal use, a court or regulator request, or where keeping the account open would breach its legal obligations.Yes, the actual groundno
Santander · OpenbankSantander · OpenbankPartialTwo months. Clause 1.13.3 of the Contrato de prestación de servicios de personas físicas (edition 1.2025): the bank may end the contract with at least two months' written notice, or longer if the law requires. The notice period does not apply and the contract can be cancelled immediately for breach by a party (false data, manipulated documents, signs of fraud or money laundering) or for serious reasons that change the circumstances of the contract. The Cuenta Corriente Open precontractual sheet states the same two months. For the crypto service (chapter 11) the bank gives one month, or immediate for payment default, AML breach or market manipulation.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Singapore Gulf BankSingapore Gulf BankPartialNo notice period stated for closing an account. The published terms cover electronic services only. Clause 3.8 lets the bank terminate or suspend electronic services immediately without prior notice on misuse. Clause 3.11 lets it stop or suspend electronic services immediately without giving any reason. Clause 4.3g lets it revoke access credentials at its sole discretion without reason or notice.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Standard CharteredStandard CharteredPartialSingapore Customer Terms clause 27.1: either party may end the banking agreement by prior notice in writing; the customer must give two banking days, but no fixed period is set for the bank. Clause 27.3: the bank may end any product with or without notice on listed grounds such as incorrect information, non-payment, breach of terms, sanctions or legal requirements. Account Terms clause 10.1(a): the bank can close or suspend an account at any time and will notify the customer as soon as it can.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
Wio BankWio BankPartialWio may suspend, restrict or terminate an account or service at any time without notice. Otherwise it terminates the agreement with at least 14 days' written notice, or shorter or immediate notice in certain cases (Personal Standard Terms, part D section 6 summary). Clause D 6.1 says the bank gives reasonable notice of closure except for third party services.By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)no
WirexWirexPartialClause 18: unless Wirex may terminate immediately, it may end your Wirex Profile by giving at least 90 days' prior written notice. Immediate closure applies for harmful breach of the Terms, false or misleading information or fraud (including during AML/KYC checks), a court, legal or regulatory order, bankruptcy or death. Wirex may also suspend the account during an investigation of suspected breach or suspicious activity.Yes, the actual groundno
Bank FrickBank FrickSilentGBC part III clause 1: unless a specific duration or notice period has been agreed, both the client and the Bank may terminate the whole or part of the relationship at any time subject to a reasonable period of notice. No fixed number of days is stated. Termination with immediate effect is allowed for good cause, in particular a serious deterioration of the client's finances, incorrect or incomplete information about material circumstances, or failure to provide collateral.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
Custodia BankCustodia BankSilentNo notice period. The Terms of Service (updated 17 July 2026), section Our Rights, let Custodia restrict or terminate access to all or part of the Platform in its sole discretion without prior notice and without liability. The Customer Deposit Account Agreement the terms refer to is not published on the site.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
DBSDBSSilentClause 23.3 of the Terms and Conditions Governing Accounts (individuals, 1 August 2026): DBS may close accounts without giving any reason by 7 days' notice or, where it sees fit, immediately on issuing a notice. Clause 23.4: no notice at all if the balance falls below the minimum, the account is inactive for a stipulated period, or a fixed deposit account is empty for 12 months. Business account terms clause 9.2 allow immediate suspension or closure without notice or reason on listed grounds.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
Luzerner KantonalbankLuzerner KantonalbankSilentNo notice period. AGB clause A.14 (Basisdokumente, edition 1 January 2026) lets the bank end existing business relationships, including credits, at its free discretion with immediate effect, unless something else was agreed in writing. Any claims fall due for repayment at once. Clause C.1.6 also lets the bank block or end e-banking access at any time without giving reasons.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
N26N26SilentTwo months for ordinary termination without stating reasons (paragraph 19.1 of the terms). 14 days for named breaches such as business use of a personal account, false information in a routine check, or abuse of staff. Immediate for serious breaches such as false statements about financial position.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno1 (1 verified)
SwissquoteSwissquoteSilentNo notice period. Clause 28.1 says either the bank or the client may terminate at any time and without stating any reasons, and unless the notice says otherwise the relationship ends with immediate effect. The bank may send the notice via the account or trading platform.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
Zand BankZand BankSilentZand publishes corporate banking terms only. The bank may close an account by written notice, with no notice period stated (clause 1.21 and 17.4). It may also close, freeze or suspend the account without prior notice (clause 1.22). An account never funded for 180 days from opening can be closed automatically without notice (clause 17.5).No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
Zürcher KantonalbankZürcher KantonalbankSilentNo notice period. Under AGB clause 20 the bank (and the customer) may end the business relationship, in whole or in part, at any time without observing a notice period. The Bestimmungen für Privatkonten, clause 7, repeat this for private accounts: the bank can terminate with immediate effect and will notify the holder in writing at the last known correspondence address.No. The policy says reasons are not givenno
BCB GroupBCB GroupUnknownNot stated on the pages found. BCB names a BCB Group Payment Account Terms and Conditions document but does not publish it; the site carries only website Terms of Use, and the developer docs say API access needs a bilateral Commercial Agreement. A BCB Payments Limited page titled Appropriate Use of your BCB Payments Accounts, live until at least November 2024 and now redirected to the Insights hub, said that on a breach of its ten account requirements BCB may, without notice, stop processing payments, immediately suspend or close the account, exit the relationship and freeze assets. No notice period for an ordinary closure is published anywhere.No policy foundnot stated
OpenReserveOpenReserveUnknownNot stated on the pages found. OpenReserve Bank, N.A. is still in organization; a second check on 28 September 2026 found the same Terms of Use and no customer documents. The only legal document on openreserve.ai is a Website Terms of Use dated 2 September 2026, which covers use of the website only. Section 3 states the bank is not chartered, is not FDIC insured, does not accept deposits and offers no products, and that any customer terms will come through separate definitive documentation later.No policy foundnot stated
SG-FORGESG-FORGEUnknownNot stated on the pages found. SG-FORGE publishes no client account terms; its sitemap of 82 pages and 42 documents was read on 28 September 2026 and none is a client agreement. The current MiCA white papers (EURCV v2.2 of 14 October 2025, USDCV v2.0 of 11 August 2025) are the only documents with a cut-off right: section D.2 lets the issuer blacklist an address at its sole discretion if it suspects illegal activity, with no notice, and section D.1 lets it redeem all tokens on not less than 90 days' notice (Unwind Event). The pre-MiCA white papers of 2023 referred to full terms and conditions on the CoinVertible page that were never published.No policy foundnot stated
SygnumSygnumUnknownNot stated on the pages found. Sygnum's General Terms and Conditions are a signed client document that is not published on any Sygnum site: the full media library of sygnum.com and sygnum.com/sg, the onboarding app and the Internet Archive index of the domain were read on 28 September 2026 and hold no GTC, custody agreement or client agreement. The only termination clauses published cover website access (Terms of Use) and the Sygnum Middle East validator service, which the ADGM branch may suspend or end at any time without notice for non-compliance, regulatory risk or breach; neither governs the banking relationship.No policy foundnot stated

Click Bank, Tag, Crypto named or Reported to sort. Each bank's profile carries the full block with sources under "If they close your account". Reported counts closures readers sent us, with how many we checked against the bank's own email. Community-reported, separate from the closure tag. Report a closed account

Partial usually means the bank's terms do not say whether you can withdraw during the notice period. A bank that confirms it in writing moves to Clear.

How the tag works

Reasons given means: specific, the bank tells the customer the actual ground; category, it names a type such as terms breach, security risk or missing documents; none, its policy says it does not explain. Crypto named means the bank's terms or acceptable-use policy name crypto activity as a ground for closure. Everything here comes from the bank's own terms, help centre or FAQ, with a checked date on the profile.

Closed or frozen right now? Start with the Frozen Account Survival Kit.

Answer 4 questions, get your match →