Yes, but only for qualified investors, companies and institutions. Sygnum does not take retail clients.
| Criterion | Score | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Accepts exchange transfers | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Stablecoin off-ramp | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Business accounts for Web3 | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Custody | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Staking and yield | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Card | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Multiple jurisdictions | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Open to retail | partial (1) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
Total 15 of 16. Yes scores 2, partial 1, no 0. A secondary source is press or a third party rather than the bank or its regulator. Unverified means no source could be found; the score stands until one is.
Scores are revised when a bank's documents change. Each revision is dated and sourced.
| 8 September 2026 | Card | no to yes | source |
| Jurisdiction | Switzerland · Singapore |
| Type | Crypto-native |
| Health tag | Solid FINMA-licensed, operationally profitable in 2024, unicorn-funded, clean regulatory record. · checked 26 August 2026 |
| Last verified | 14 September 2026 |
Closure policy: Unknown
Unknown: we found no published closure policy.
| Notice | Not stated on the pages found. Sygnum's General Terms and Conditions are a signed client document that is not published on any Sygnum site: the full media library of sygnum.com and sygnum.com/sg, the onboarding app and the Internet Archive index of the domain were read on 28 September 2026 and hold no GTC, custody agreement or client agreement. The only termination clauses published cover website access (Terms of Use) and the Sygnum Middle East validator service, which the ADGM branch may suspend or end at any time without notice for non-compliance, regulatory risk or breach; neither governs the banking relationship. |
| Reasons given | No policy found |
| Access to funds | Not stated for a closure. The Singapore help pages say that if Sygnum stops supporting a token it will, on a best endeavours basis, transfer the holding to a wallet the client controls and make reasonable efforts to give prior notice, and that custodied digital assets are excluded from Sygnum Bank AG's estate in an insolvency. |
| Appeal | No internal appeal against a closure is described. The legal notices page: complaints go to the Client Service Manager, to Client Services, or to Legal and Compliance at complaints@sygnum.com, with the complaints handling framework available on written request free of charge. If no agreement is reached the client may contact the Swiss Banking Ombudsman, a free mediation service. Deposits are protected by esisuisse up to CHF 100,000. |
| Names crypto as a ground for closure | not stated |
Sources: Sygnum legal notices page, complaints and feedback section (Swiss Banking Ombudsman) · official, checked 28 September 2026
Sygnum Singapore help pages, what Sygnum does if it ceases to support a token · official, checked 28 September 2026
Sygnum website Terms of Use (website access only) · official, checked 28 September 2026
Sygnum Middle East validator Terms of Use, Termination section (staking service only) · official, checked 28 September 2026
A closure usually starts as a freeze. The Frozen Account Survival Kit covers the first 48 hours. Every bank side by side: which banks tell you why they closed your account.
| 2019 | FINMA granted Sygnum Bank AG a Swiss banking and securities dealer licence on 26 August 2019. Sygnum Pte Ltd received its MAS Capital Markets Services licence in Singapore the same year. source |
| 2023 | MAS granted Sygnum Singapore a Major Payment Institution licence on 3 October 2023, covering digital payment token brokerage. Sygnum also received an ADGM Financial Services Permission in Abu Dhabi in March 2023 and had expanded into Luxembourg in December 2022. source |
| 2026 | FMA Liechtenstein authorised Sygnum Europe AG as a MiCAR crypto-asset service provider, live from 30 June 2026 with passporting across the EU and EEA. The entity had been registered under Liechtenstein's TVTG since September 2024. No fines or public warnings found. source |
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.
Only as a private qualified investor. Under Swiss FinSA that means at least CHF 500,000 in assets and the background to understand the risks. Sygnum asks for a deposit or trading volume of at least CHF 50,000 to start, and says plainly that it does not onboard retail clients, US persons or anyone from a sanctioned country. Private accounts usually open within two weeks.
Sygnum accounts support SEPA and SWIFT payments in CHF, EUR, USD and SGD, and the bank publishes no rule against paying an exchange. It has not published a page confirming it either. Crypto withdrawals are described as going to wallets you own, with a screening check the first time you use a new address. Institutional clients can trade on Binance, Deribit and Bybit through Sygnum Protect while their collateral stays at the bank.
Yes. Sygnum custodies and trades USDC and USDT and converts them to fiat at what it calls a low single-digit spread, with the proceeds landing in your Sygnum fiat account. The bank also issues DCHF, its own Swiss franc settlement token, backed one to one by CHF deposits. Sygnum Europe clients can transfer USDC in directly.
Sygnum offers Visa and Mastercard credit cards in CHF, EUR or USD for private and corporate clients, issued by Viseca. The card itself settles in fiat. You can set the bank to pay the card balance from your crypto or fiat holdings, so crypto is converted first rather than spent directly. Silver cards cost CHF 100 a year, Gold CHF 200 and Platinum CHF 550.