Yes for crypto businesses and institutions, no for individuals. BCB is a payments and settlement provider, not a bank.
| Criterion | Score | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Accepts exchange transfers | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Stablecoin off-ramp | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Business accounts for Web3 | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Custody | partial (1) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Staking and yield | partial (1) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Card | no (0) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Multiple jurisdictions | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Open to retail | no (0) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
Total 10 of 16. Yes scores 2, partial 1, no 0. A secondary source is press or a third party rather than the bank or its regulator. Unverified means no source could be found; the score stands until one is.
Scores are revised when a bank's documents change. Each revision is dated and sourced.
| 8 September 2026 | Staking and yield | no to partial | source |
| Jurisdiction | UK · EEA |
| Type | Business banking |
| Health tag | Watch A 2023-24 FCA skilled-person review, senior compliance departures, limited published financials, and a French DASP registration that lapsed on 2 July 2026 at the end of the MiCA transition with no MiCA licence found in the registers. · checked 26 August 2026 |
| Last verified | 8 September 2026 |
Closure policy: Unknown
Unknown: we found no published closure policy.
| Notice | Not stated on the pages found. BCB names a BCB Group Payment Account Terms and Conditions document but does not publish it; the site carries only website Terms of Use, and the developer docs say API access needs a bilateral Commercial Agreement. A BCB Payments Limited page titled Appropriate Use of your BCB Payments Accounts, live until at least November 2024 and now redirected to the Insights hub, said that on a breach of its ten account requirements BCB may, without notice, stop processing payments, immediately suspend or close the account, exit the relationship and freeze assets. No notice period for an ordinary closure is published anywhere. |
| Reasons given | No policy found |
| Access to funds | Not stated for a closure. The withdrawn appropriate-use page said unused funds are swept to a nominated bank account after 29 days, and that BCB may freeze assets on a breach. No safeguarding statement or return-of-funds timing is published for the UK payment institution or the French e-money institution. |
| Appeal | No closure appeal is described. The UK Complaints page for BCB Payments Limited promises a final response within 3 days, or a holding reply within 15 days and a final response within 35 days, and says you can refer the complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service. The EEA page for BCB Payments (Europe) SASU (ACPR e-money institution 735745) runs the same timelines and names the AMF Ombudsman instead. Both pages say BCB does not serve retail consumers. BCB Payments Limited is FCA-authorised under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (number 807377). |
| Names crypto as a ground for closure | not stated |
Sources: BCB Group Legal hub (entities and licences; no client terms linked) · official, checked 28 September 2026
BCB Group website Terms of Use · official, checked 28 September 2026
BCB Payments Limited, Appropriate Use of your BCB Payments Accounts; page withdrawn from the live site, read from the Internet Archive capture of 13 November 2024 · official, checked 28 September 2026
BCB Group Financial Crime Risk Appetite Statement · official, checked 28 September 2026
BCB Group Complaints page (UK) · official, checked 28 September 2026
BCB Payments (Europe) Complaints page (EEA) · official, checked 28 September 2026
A closure usually starts as a freeze. The Frozen Account Survival Kit covers the first 48 hours. Every bank side by side: which banks tell you why they closed your account.
| 2020 | FCA authorised BCB Payments Limited as an Authorised Payment Institution (FRN 807377) in January 2020, after a 2018 registration as a money remitter. source |
| 2024 | The FCA issued a section 166 skilled person notice in late 2023. It closed in 2024 with BCB saying it was in good standing. Five senior executives, including the CEO and the chief compliance officer, left between mid 2023 and September 2024. source |
| 2026 | France granted an ACPR e-money licence and an AMF DASP registration in April 2024. The AMF register shows the DASP registration of BCB Markets (Europe) lapsed on 2 July 2026 at the end of the MiCA transition period, with no MiCA CASP authorisation found. source |
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.
No. BCB serves businesses and institutions in the digital asset economy, from SMEs to exchanges and funds. Its crypto trading is limited to Relevant Persons such as investment professionals and high net worth entities, and it excludes US persons and most UK residents.
Yes, for business clients. Exchanges are BCB's core client base, and Coinbase, Kraken, Gemini and Bitstamp are named on its site. If your counterparty is also a BLINC member, the transfer settles instantly and free of charge at any hour.
No. BCB Payments Limited is an FCA authorised payment institution in the UK, BCB Payments (Europe) is a French e-money institution, and BCB Markets (Switzerland) is a VQF SRO member. None of them is a bank, and there is no deposit insurance.
Not as far as public registers show. Its French DASP registration lapsed on 2 July 2026 when the MiCA transition ended, and no BCB entity appeared on the two MiCA CASP trackers checked in September 2026. BCB said in August 2025 that it had filed a MiCA application.