Anchorage DigitalIs Anchorage Digital crypto friendly?

Yes for institutions, no for individuals.

CBL Score: 12 of 16

CriterionScoreSource
Accepts exchange transfersyes (2)source · checked 8 September 2026
Stablecoin off-rampyes (2)source · checked 8 September 2026
Business accounts for Web3yes (2)source · checked 8 September 2026
Custodyyes (2)source · checked 8 September 2026
Staking and yieldyes (2)source · checked 8 September 2026
Cardno (0)source · checked 8 September 2026
Multiple jurisdictionsyes (2)source · checked 8 September 2026
Open to retailno (0)source · checked 8 September 2026

Total 12 of 16. Yes scores 2, partial 1, no 0. A secondary source is press or a third party rather than the bank or its regulator. Unverified means no source could be found; the score stands until one is.

Score history

Scores are revised when a bank's documents change. Each revision is dated and sourced.

8 September 2026Multiple jurisdictionspartial to yessource

Standing

JurisdictionUnited States
TypeCrypto-native
Health tagSolid US federal trust charter. The 2022 AML consent order was formally lifted in August 2025. · checked 26 August 2026
Last verified8 September 2026

If they close your account

Closure policy: Partial

Partial: the terms say you are told the reason, but the notice is under 60 days or not stated, or moving your money during notice is conditional or not stated.

NoticeNo ordinary notice period is published. Anchorage is institution-only and does not publish its custody agreement, but the standard Master Custody Service Agreement of Anchorage Digital Bank N.A. is on file with the SEC as an exhibit to ETF registrations (the form version of April 2026 and an executed copy of September 2024). Clause 4.2: either party may end the agreement for a material breach not cured within 30 days of written notice, and immediately for listed grounds. Clause 2.1: Anchorage may end it on 14 days' notice if onboarding is not completed. The no-cause termination sentence in clause 4.1 is redacted in every filed copy. For the Porto self-custody wallet (Anchorage Innovations, LLC, terms of 24 April 2026) clause 11.B gives 30 calendar days' written notice, or none for the listed grounds.
Reasons givenBy category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents)
Access to fundsMCSA clause 4.4(a): the client has 30 days from the termination notice to move all digital assets and fiat out, and forfeits anything still there after 45 days. Anchorage can shorten the window if counsel advises that the service raises legal, regulatory, risk or reputational issues. Fees keep accruing until the assets leave (clause 4.3). Porto clause 10.B: 30 days after termination to withdraw, after which access ends; the user's own keys keep working outside the wallet. The Covered Stablecoin Terms (sections 4 to 6) let Anchorage Digital Bank refuse, suspend or limit issuance and redemption requests and freeze stablecoins on legal orders.
AppealNone stated for a closure. The MCSA has no complaints clause; disputes go to the South Dakota courts (clause 12.13). Porto terms go to notice, mediation and then binding arbitration (clause 16). The Legal page gives a complaints route only for Anchorage Digital NY, LLC (adny-complaints@anchorlabs.com) with escalation to the New York Department of Financial Services. No OCC route is named for the national bank.
Names crypto as a ground for closureno

Sources: Anchorage Digital Bank N.A. Master Custody Service Agreement, Standard Terms and Conditions, clauses 2.1, 4.1 to 4.4 and 12.13 (form filed as exhibit 10.5 to the 21Shares Hyperliquid ETF registration statement, 14 April 2026) · official, checked 28 September 2026
Executed Anchorage custody agreement with ARK 21Shares, 11 September 2024, same termination clauses (exhibit 10.2 to Form 8-K) · official, checked 28 September 2026
Porto Wallet Terms and Conditions, Anchorage Innovations, LLC, 24 April 2026, clauses 7, 10.B, 11 and 16 · official, checked 28 September 2026
Anchorage Electronic Trading Terms of Service, version 18 December 2023, clause 1(b) · official, checked 23 September 2026
Anchorage Digital Bank N.A. Covered Stablecoin Terms, effective 13 October 2025, sections 4 to 6 · official, checked 23 September 2026
Anchorage Digital Legal page, ADNY complaints · official, checked 28 September 2026

A closure usually starts as a freeze. The Frozen Account Survival Kit covers the first 48 hours. Every bank side by side: which banks tell you why they closed your account.

What Anchorage Digital allows and blocks

Allowed

  • USD accounts with domestic payments, ACH and SWIFT wires, sent and received through Anchorage Digital Bank
  • Off-exchange settlement with Binance through the Atlas network, with crypto and USD accounts pledged as collateral while assets stay in Anchorage custody
  • Minting, redeeming and exchanging eligible stablecoins for USD or other digital assets (USDtb, PYUSD, USDe named)
  • Regulated custody from an OCC-chartered national trust bank, in segregated, bankruptcy-remote wallets
  • Staking across more than 20 networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Avalanche and Hyperliquid
  • Accounts for protocols, exchanges, miners, fintechs, token issuers, funds and corporate treasuries
  • Interest on USD balances, held through BNY as sub-custodian, and monthly rewards on eligible stablecoins
  • Singapore clients served by Anchorage Digital Singapore under an MAS Major Payment Institution licence

Blocked or restricted

  • No retail accounts. Services go to institutions and, in limited circumstances, certain high net worth individuals
  • Not marketed to residents outside the US and Singapore
  • No debit or credit card
  • Crypto held in custody is not FDIC or SIPC insured
  • Some trading services require Eligible Contract Participant status under CFTC rules

Opening an account

Fees that matter

Regulatory history

2021OCC conditionally approved the conversion of Anchorage Trust Company into Anchorage Digital Bank N.A., the first federally chartered crypto bank, on 13 January 2021. source
2022OCC consent order of 21 April 2022 for failing to adopt and implement an adequate BSA/AML compliance programme, in breach of the operating agreement. source
2025OCC terminated the 2022 consent order on 20 August 2025. Anchorage Digital Singapore had received its MAS Major Payment Institution licence in November 2024. source

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Questions about Anchorage Digital

Can I open an Anchorage Digital account as an individual?

No. Anchorage Digital's legal page says its services are offered to institutions and to certain high net worth individuals in limited circumstances. The client list runs from hedge funds and ETF issuers to protocols, exchanges and corporate treasuries. It is also not marketed to residents outside the US and Singapore.

Does Anchorage Digital Bank let me send money to Kraken or Binance?

Institutional clients get USD accounts with ACH and SWIFT wires and can send and receive dollars alongside crypto. Since June 2026 clients can also trade on Binance through off-exchange settlement, pledging crypto and USD held at Anchorage as collateral. Anchorage does not publish a policy on wiring to your own account at a specific exchange, so ask during onboarding.

Can I cash out USDC or USDtb to dollars at Anchorage Digital?

Yes for eligible stablecoins. The stablecoin rewards page says clients can mint, redeem and exchange eligible stablecoins for USD or other digital assets. USDtb, PYUSD and USDe are named. Anchorage Digital Bank is the sole issuer of USDtb, which is backed mostly by BlackRock's BUIDL fund.

What does Anchorage Digital charge?

There is no public fee schedule. A custody agreement filed with the SEC shows the shape of it: a one-time onboarding fee, a monthly custody fee in annual basis points on assets under custody, and a monthly minimum if holdings fall below a set level. Trading spreads and wire fees are not published.

Closest alternatives

3/16Custodia Bank
Not really. Custodia is a chartered Wyoming bank, but today it sells blockchain infrastructure to other banks and publishes no customer account, no fiat rail and no exchange transfer service.
8/16Cross River Bank
Yes for crypto businesses and fintech partners, which is who the bank is built for. Individuals can bank here too, but get no crypto features.
Compare against 35 other banks →

Lists featuring Anchorage Digital

Crypto-native banksCrypto-friendly banks with exchange transfersCrypto-friendly banks with a stablecoin off-rampCrypto-friendly banks with Web3 business accountsCrypto-friendly banks with custodyCrypto-friendly banks with staking