Is Cross River Bank crypto friendly?Yes for crypto businesses and fintech partners, which is who the bank is built for. Individuals can bank here too, but get no crypto features.
| Criterion | Score | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Accepts exchange transfers | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Stablecoin off-ramp | partial (1) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Business accounts for Web3 | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Custody | no (0) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Staking and yield | no (0) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Card | partial (1) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Multiple jurisdictions | no (0) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
| Open to retail | yes (2) | source · checked 8 September 2026 |
Total 8 of 16. Yes scores 2, partial 1, no 0. A secondary source is press or a third party rather than the bank or its regulator. Unverified means no source could be found; the score stands until one is.
Scores are revised when a bank's documents change. Each revision is dated and sourced.
| 8 September 2026 | Open to retail | no to yes | source |
| 8 September 2026 | Multiple jurisdictions | partial to no | source |
| 8 September 2026 | Card | no to partial | source |
| Jurisdiction | United States |
| Type | Business banking |
| Health tag | Watch A 2023 FDIC consent order restricting new fintech partnerships. · checked 26 August 2026 |
| Last verified | 8 September 2026 |
Closure policy: Partial
| Notice | The Deposit Account Agreement is referenced on the Regulation E page but is not published on crossriver.com. The only public termination clause is in the website Terms of Service: the bank may, at its sole discretion and without notice, restrict, deny, terminate or suspend the Bank Product or Site with immediate effect. No ordinary notice period is stated. |
| Reasons given | By category only (terms breach, security risk, missing documents) |
| Access to funds | Not stated on the pages found. |
| Appeal | Not stated on the pages found. The Terms of Service contain an arbitration clause (AAA) for disputes but no complaint or appeal route for closures. |
| Names crypto as a ground for closure | not stated |
Sources: Cross River Terms of Service, Termination section · official, checked 23 September 2026
Cross River Online Banking Terms and Conditions, termination of Online Services · official, checked 23 September 2026
Cross River Regulation E Protections, reference to Deposit Account Agreement · official, checked 23 September 2026
A closure usually starts as a freeze. The Frozen Account Survival Kit covers the first 48 hours. Every bank side by side: which banks tell you why they closed your account.
| 2018 | FDIC assessed a $641,750 civil money penalty on Cross River Bank, and $493,500 on partner Freedom Financial Asset Management, for unfair and deceptive practices in marketing debt consolidation loans; $20 million set aside for restitution. source |
| 2023 | FDIC consent order FDIC-22-0040b, stipulation dated 8 March 2023, for unsafe or unsound practices in fair lending compliance; requires FDIC non-objection before any new third party or new credit product. No termination order was located as of September 2026. source |
| 2025 | Cross River and Highnote began settling with Visa in USDC over Solana in Visa's US stablecoin settlement pilot, announced 16 December 2025. source |
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.
Yes. It is one of the main US banks behind crypto firms. Its own site names Circle, Coinbase, Fireblocks, Gemini and Transak as clients, and it has handled USDC minting and redemption for Circle since March 2023. Crypto businesses get FDIC-insured accounts plus ACH, wire, RTP and FedNow rails through an API.
No. The bank says plainly that it does not provide crypto custody and that customers do not hold digital assets of any kind there. Its stablecoin-enabled accounts turn incoming USDC on Solana or Ethereum into US dollars in a normal deposit account. Those accounts are for businesses and platforms, not individuals.
Yes, as far as the public record shows. The FDIC issued a consent order in March 2023 over fair lending compliance. It requires FDIC written non-objection before the bank takes on a new third party or launches a new credit product. No termination order had been published as of September 2026. The bank was also fined $641,750 by the FDIC in 2018 over a debt consolidation loan programme.
Yes. Cross River offers personal checking, savings and CDs, with no minimum deposit for checking and savings and $500 for CDs. There are branches in Teaneck, New Jersey and Wilmington, Delaware. The personal accounts have no crypto features, and the international payments service is only for US-based customers.