THORWallet CardTHORWallet Card scores 8 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. THORWallet, Mastercard. Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock. Unblock (Atomo Sarl); issuing bank not disclosed.
Watch. THORWallet holds no licence of its own and the Mastercard runs through Unblock, which publishes a Lithuanian crypto asset authorisation and a FinCEN MSB registration but no issuing bank, so the card balance sits with a provider whose safeguarding terms are not published (official terms and provider site).
| Criterion | Points | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Custody | 0 of 2 | The wallet is self-custodial and keys stay on the device (official, cards page). The card is prefunded: the user tops it up with USDC from the wallet, and funds "remain in self-custody until the user chooses to spend" (third-party: Cointelegraph sponsored, 1 Sep 2026; CoinMarketCap Academy, Sep 2026). THORWallet says it does not hold, control or safeguard fiat funds, and chargebacks and card balances sit with the Card Provider (official, terms). No statement was found on how Unblock holds the topped-up balance, so the card balance scores as custodial with undocumented funds. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Issuer and licence | 1 of 2 | Not named on the card page, which says only "a Mastercard issued under licence" (official). The terms name Unblock, operated by Atomo Sarl, as the Card Provider (official, terms section 12). Unblock's own site gives a Lithuanian crypto asset authorisation and a FinCEN foreign MSB registration, with no licence numbers and no issuing bank or EMI (official, getunblock.com). A press release calls Unblock "Swiss regulated" without naming a regulator (third-party: Cointelegraph press release, 30 Apr 2026). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Availability | 2 of 2 | "175+ countries including the US" (official, cards page). The help centre country list includes the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, the United States and 25 EU member states; Bulgaria and Malta are missing (official, faqs.thorwallet.org/thorwallet-card). The list is marked indicative and depends on verification. The terms exclude New York, Washington State and sanctioned jurisdictions (official, terms section 3(a)). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase | 1 of 2 | 1.5% markup on top of the Mastercard network rate, on both Basic and Premium (official, cards page and help centre, checked 20 Oct 2026). The Swiss IBAN card charges 1% (official). Scored on Basic. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Funding cost | 1 of 2 | USDC top-up 0% (official, cards page). Basic virtual card free with an invite code, otherwise $5 one-off (official). Premium $124 one-off, or $99 with an invite code, includes the physical card; no subscription (official). Delivery fee not stated. No monthly or inactivity fee listed (official). Basic monthly limit starts at $10,000 and can rise to $100,000 after a questionnaire (official, help centre). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Apple Pay and Google Pay | 2 of 2 | Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the cards page or the card help article (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). Both are reported as supported on Basic (third-party: Cointelegraph sponsored, 1 Sep 2026; CoinMarketCap Academy). The older Fiat24 IBAN card lists both (official, help centre). | third-party checked 20 October 2026 |
| Freeze and dispute policy | 1 of 2 | Chargebacks are handled by the Card Provider, with no window or response time given (official, terms section 12). The user must notify THORWallet in writing within 30 days of an event or the transaction may be deemed accepted (official, terms section 15(c)). Complaints about the card go to the Card Provider; disputes with THORWallet start by email to info@thorwallet.org, with arbitration possible after 60 days (official, terms section 15). No freeze article found in the help centre. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Yield on idle balance | 0 of 2 | The card balance itself earns nothing (official, no mention). The wallet offers variable stablecoin yield of 8.3% with no lockups, "variable and not guaranteed" (official, homepage, checked 20 Oct 2026). This is a separate vault in the wallet. The card spends from a prefunded balance with the Card Provider, which earns nothing, so no yield is scored. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
Total 8 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.
| 20 October 2026 | 8 of 16 | First score |
| Company | THORWallet is a brand of EMM Ventures AG, Zug, Switzerland (official, terms section 12.1 and site footer). THORWallet says it is "not a bank, e-money institution, payment institution, or card issuer" (official, terms). The card is run with Unblock, operated by Atomo Sarl, named in the terms as a Card Provider (official, terms version 2, July 2026). Unblock describes itself as authorised to provide crypto asset exchange and custody services in Lithuania and registered as a Foreign MSB with FinCEN in the US (official, getunblock.com). A second, older product, the THORWallet IBAN and Mastercard, runs with Fiat24 (SR Saphirstein AG, FINMA fintech licence), which has closed new applications (official). |
| Network | Mastercard (official). official |
| Rails | EMM Ventures AG offers the card under the THORWallet brand through Unblock, operated by Atomo Sarl. THORWallet does not hold fiat. The topped-up USDC balance sits with the Card Provider; the issuing bank behind the Mastercard is not disclosed (official). |
| Website | www.thorwallet.org/cards |
| Health tag | Watch THORWallet holds no licence of its own and the Mastercard runs through Unblock, which publishes a Lithuanian crypto asset authorisation and a FinCEN MSB registration but no issuing bank, so the card balance sits with a provider whose safeguarding terms are not published (official terms and provider site). |
| Last checked | 20 October 2026 |
Chargebacks are handled by the Card Provider, with no window or response time given (official, terms section 12). The user must notify THORWallet in writing within 30 days of an event or the transaction may be deemed accepted (official, terms section 15(c)). Complaints about the card go to the Card Provider; disputes with THORWallet start by email to info@thorwallet.org, with arbitration possible after 60 days (official, terms section 15). No freeze article found in the help centre.
The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.
| FX | 1.5% markup on top of the Mastercard network rate, on both Basic and Premium (official, cards page and help centre, checked 20 Oct 2026). The Swiss IBAN card charges 1% (official). Scored on Basic. official |
| Funding | USDC top-up 0% (official, cards page). Basic virtual card free with an invite code, otherwise $5 one-off (official). Premium $124 one-off, or $99 with an invite code, includes the physical card; no subscription (official). Delivery fee not stated. No monthly or inactivity fee listed (official). Basic monthly limit starts at $10,000 and can rise to $100,000 after a questionnaire (official, help centre). official |
| ATM | $1 domestic, $5 international, on Basic and Premium (official). Limits $2,500 per transaction, $10,000 daily, $20,000 monthly on Basic and $60,000 on Premium (official, help centre). |
| Tiers | Basic (virtual, free with invite code or $5, $100,000 monthly limit) and Premium ($124 one-off or $99 with invite, physical plus virtual, $1,000,000 monthly limit) (official). Staking tiers on the TITN token: Standard, Community (10,000 TITN), Community Plus (100,000 TITN), which lower swap fees and keep the higher cashback cap (official). |
Premium 0.5% in USDC on the first $5,000 of card spend per month in year one, then capped at $2,000 per month if the user does not stake TITN. Basic 0% (official, cards page and help centre, checked 20 Oct 2026). The cards page says it is paid from the card's FX margin.
Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.
"175+ countries including the US" (official, cards page). The help centre country list includes the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, the United States and 25 EU member states; Bulgaria and Malta are missing (official, faqs.thorwallet.org/thorwallet-card). The list is marked indicative and depends on verification. The terms exclude New York, Washington State and sanctioned jurisdictions (official, terms section 3(a)). official
Identity checks: Standard verification during card setup; some countries need extra verification; Basic limit above $10,000 needs a questionnaire (official, help centre).
Facts marked official come from THORWallet's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.