Nexo CardNexo Card

Visit Nexo Card →

Nexo Card scores 9 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Nexo, Mastercard. Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate. DiPocket UAB, Bank of Lithuania e-money licence.

Health Check · checked 12 October 2026

Watch. Card issued by a licensed Lithuanian e-money institution, but Nexo paid $45 million in 2023 to settle with the SEC and US states, holds no MiCA licence of its own in the EEA, and its Earn product sits outside its partners' MiCA scope (official SEC release; third-party).

CBL Card Score: 9 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody1 of 2Custodial. The card spends from the Nexo account, either against a credit line backed by crypto (Credit mode) or from the balance (Debit mode) (official). For EEA clients, Tangany holds the crypto and keeps client assets separate from its own, allocated to each owner (official, nexo.com/mica-faq). No self-custodial route.official
checked 12 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2"The Nexo Card is issued by DiPocket UAB" (official, nexo.com/nexo-card). DiPocket UAB holds electronic money institution licence No. 75 from the Bank of Lithuania, issued 10 Nov 2020 (official, Bank of Lithuania register).official
checked 12 October 2026
Availability1 of 2Citizens and residents of selected European countries, including the EEA and the UK (official). Not offered in the UAE or Saudi Arabia (official country scope; Nexo's UAE entity has initial VARA approval only, third-party: Cointelegraph, 6 Mar 2024). Not part of Nexo's US relaunch of 16 Feb 2026 (official).official
checked 12 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase0 of 2Weekdays 0.2% for EEA, UK and Swiss currencies, 2% for the rest of the world; weekends 0.7% and 2.5% (official, nexo.com/nexo-card). Scored at 2%, the rate outside Europe, under the FX rule in the Card Score methodology.official
checked 12 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2No monthly, annual or inactivity card fee (official). Virtual card free once the account holds $50 (official). Physical card delivered free, but only to Gold tier members with more than $5,000 in the account (official); third parties report physical orders paused since January 2025 (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026; SpendNode, 6 Aug 2026). Debit-mode conversion fee not published (third-party: cardpilled, 11 Oct 2026). Credit mode borrowing from 1.9% (official).official
checked 12 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2Apple Pay and Google Pay (official).official
checked 12 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy1 of 2Card terms are published but did not render in this check, so no dispute window or response time could be confirmed (official, card terms page). Nexo does not publish dispute timelines; chargebacks go through DiPocket under Mastercard rules (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026).official
checked 12 October 2026
Yield on idle balance1 of 2Debit-mode balances earn daily compound interest, flexible with no lock, up to 13% (official, nexo.com/nexo-card and nexo.com/earn-crypto). Interest accrues only with a portfolio of $5,000 or more, and the top rates need NEXO token holdings (official). Base-tier rates are not published.official
checked 12 October 2026

Total 9 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

12 October 20269 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyNexo. EEA programme run with Nexo Services UAB, Lithuania (official, Bank of Lithuania dispute decision No. 429-240, 10 Oct 2025). In the EEA, Nexo's crypto is held by Tangany, a German custodian licensed under MiCA and supervised by BaFin (official, nexo.com/mica-faq).
NetworkMastercard official
RailsNexo names DiPocket UAB as the card issuer, an electronic money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (official). Crypto for EEA clients is held by Tangany (official).
Websitenexo.com/nexo-card
Health tagWatch Card issued by a licensed Lithuanian e-money institution, but Nexo paid $45 million in 2023 to settle with the SEC and US states, holds no MiCA licence of its own in the EEA, and its Earn product sits outside its partners' MiCA scope (official SEC release; third-party).
Last checked12 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Card terms are published but did not render in this check, so no dispute window or response time could be confirmed (official, card terms page). Nexo does not publish dispute timelines; chargebacks go through DiPocket under Mastercard rules (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXWeekdays 0.2% for EEA, UK and Swiss currencies, 2% for the rest of the world; weekends 0.7% and 2.5% (official, nexo.com/nexo-card). Scored at 2%, the rate outside Europe, under the FX rule in the Card Score methodology. official
FundingNo monthly, annual or inactivity card fee (official). Virtual card free once the account holds $50 (official). Physical card delivered free, but only to Gold tier members with more than $5,000 in the account (official); third parties report physical orders paused since January 2025 (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026; SpendNode, 6 Aug 2026). Debit-mode conversion fee not published (third-party: cardpilled, 11 Oct 2026). Credit mode borrowing from 1.9% (official). official
ATMFree each month: €200 on Base, €400 Silver, €1,000 Gold, €2,000 Platinum, then 2% with a €1.99 minimum (official).
TiersBase, Silver, Gold, Platinum, set by the share of the portfolio held in NEXO tokens; Platinum needs 10% (official).

Cashback, as of 12 Oct 2026

In NEXO: Base 0.5%, Silver 0.7%, Gold 1%, Platinum 2%. In BTC: 0.1%, 0.2%, 0.3%, 0.5% (official, nexo.com/nexo-card, checked 12 Oct 2026). Credit mode only, with more than $5,000 in the account. Monthly caps of $50 to $200 reported (third-party: cardpilled).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

Citizens and residents of selected European countries, including the EEA and the UK (official). Not offered in the UAE or Saudi Arabia (official country scope; Nexo's UAE entity has initial VARA approval only, third-party: Cointelegraph, 6 Mar 2024). Not part of Nexo's US relaunch of 16 Feb 2026 (official). official

Identity checks: Identity verification with an ID document from an eligible European country (official).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Nexo's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Nexo Card page official · checked 12 October 2026Bank of Lithuania licence register, DiPocket UAB official · checked 12 October 2026Bank of Lithuania dispute decision No. 429-240, 10 Oct 2025 official · checked 12 October 2026Nexo MiCA FAQ official · checked 12 October 2026Nexo licences and registrations official · checked 12 October 2026Nexo Earn page official · checked 12 October 2026Nexo returns to the US, 16 Feb 2026 official · checked 12 October 2026Nexo card terms official · checked 12 October 2026SEC press release 2023-11, Jan 2023 official · checked 12 October 2026cardpilled review, verified 11 Oct 2026 third-party · checked 11 October 2026CryptoSlate review, updated 3 Oct 2026 third-party · checked 3 October 2026Cointelegraph, Nexo's Dubai entity receives initial approval from VARA, 6 Mar 2024 third-party · checked 20 October 2026SpendNode review, verified 6 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 6 August 2026

CBL may earn a referral fee if you sign up through a link on this page. Referral links never change the Card Score.

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Nexo Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Nexo Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Nexo Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Nexo Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Nexo Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Nexo Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Nexo Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Nexo Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Nexo Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Nexo Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Nexo Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Nexo Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Nexo Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Nexo Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Nexo Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Nexo Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Nexo Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Nexo Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Nexo Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Nexo Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Nexo Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Nexo Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Nexo Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Nexo Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Nexo Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Nexo Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Nexo Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Nexo Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Nexo Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Nexo Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Nexo Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Nexo Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Nexo Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Nexo Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Nexo Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Nexo Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Nexo Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Nexo Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Nexo Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Nexo Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →