Wirex One scores 13 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Wirex, Visa. Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated. Wirex Limited, FCA EMI, in the UK; Transact Payments Malta, MFSA EMI, in the EEA.
Watch. Regulated e-money issuers in the UK and the EEA, but the product is two weeks old and mid-migration: a balance-migration incident on 28 and 29 June 2026, degraded crypto deposits on 16 Sept 2026, Wirex Limited's accounts to June 2025 shown as overdue at Companies House, no MiCA authorisation found after the Italian transition period ended on 30 June 2026 while the UK site still claims MiCA regulation, and a Trustpilot score of 2.4 with recent complaints about frozen accounts and migration losses.
| Criterion | Points | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Custody | 1 of 2 | Crypto sits in a self-custodial wallet; the terms state Wirex "does not hold, safeguard, or control your digital assets", with keys managed by Privy (official). Fiat balances are e-money, safeguarded by Wirex Limited in the UK and by Transact Payments Malta in the EEA (official). Whether the card settles straight from the self-custodial wallet or from a fiat balance after a sale is not stated. | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| Issuer and licence | 2 of 2 | UK: Wirex Limited, FCA EMI, FRN 902025. EEA: Transact Payments Malta Limited, MFSA EMI, C 91879 (official, Wirex One terms and TPML issuer terms). | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| Availability | 2 of 2 | Card offered in 72 countries including the UK, the EU states and the UAE; Saudi Arabia and the US not listed (official, Wirex One supported countries, updated 11 Sept 2026). The classic country table showed no card in the UAE, so the UAE sits on the verify list. | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase | 2 of 2 | Foreign transaction fee free on every tier (official). Selling crypto to spend carries a variable spread shown in the app before confirming; no published percentage (official; third-party: cardpilled, 4 Sept 2026). | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| Funding cost | 1 of 2 | No subscription fee. Virtual card on the free Base tier. Physical card from Premium, which needs a $500 portfolio with 1% held in WPAY; metal card from Private. Wirex One issuance and delivery fees not published (classic app: UK plastic delivery £5, international £15, metal £45). SEPA and Faster Payments top-ups free; crypto deposits cost network gas only; card top-up fee not stated (official). | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| Apple Pay and Google Pay | 2 of 2 | Apple Pay and Google Pay. Google Pay launched in the UK on 21 Oct 2025 (official press release); Wirex's Apple Pay page says it is "not available in all markets" (official); both confirmed for Wirex One by cardpilled (4 Sept 2026) and cryptoslate (22 Sept 2026). No official per-region list for the EEA. | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| Freeze and dispute policy | 2 of 2 | Wirex One terms, clause 11: suspension or termination for breach, suspected fraud, legal requirement, AML or sanctions, or risk; otherwise termination on at least two months' notice; suspension does not touch the self-custodial wallet. Chargebacks follow card-scheme rules with the timeframe set by the scheme. EEA issuer terms (TPML): unauthorised transactions reported within 13 months, complaints answered within 15 business days, 35 in exceptional cases. UK: Financial Ombudsman Service (official). | official checked 24 September 2026 |
| Yield on idle balance | 1 of 2 | Wirex One Earn: flexible accounts withdrawable at any time with a variable rate paid weekly, fixed accounts up to 24 months with no early withdrawal; open to the free Base tier; marketed at "up to 9% APY"; no published rate table; UK and EEA eligibility not stated (official). | official checked 24 September 2026 |
Total 13 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.
| 24 September 2026 | 13 of 16 | First score, Wirex One product |
| Company | Wirex. UK: Wirex Limited, FCA-authorised e-money institution, FRN 902025. EEA: card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited (MFSA-licensed EMI, C 91879), programme managed by UAB Wirex, Lithuania. Rest of world: DA Labs S.A.S. de C.V., El Salvador. Wallet keys managed by Privy Technologies, Inc. (official, Wirex One terms). Wirex One launched publicly on 16 Sept 2026 and replaces the classic Wirex app; classic users in the EEA, UK and Australia had until 30 June 2026 to upgrade (official). |
| Network | Visa (Visa Platinum and Visa Signature per the app store listings; Wirex is a principal member of Visa and Mastercard, and classic EEA cards were Mastercard) (official) official |
| Rails | UK: Wirex Limited, Wirex's own e-money institution (FCA, FRN 902025). EEA: Transact Payments Malta Limited, an e-money institution (MFSA, C 91879) that is a separate company from Wirex (official, Wirex One terms; Wirex and Transact Payments release, 25 Oct 2023). Wallet keys managed by Privy, a Stripe company (official, Wirex One terms). |
| Card spend, August 2026 | $34.9M, tracked onchain by Paymentscan (third-party). Not part of the Card Score. |
| Website | wirexapp.com |
| Health tag | Watch Regulated e-money issuers in the UK and the EEA, but the product is two weeks old and mid-migration: a balance-migration incident on 28 and 29 June 2026, degraded crypto deposits on 16 Sept 2026, Wirex Limited's accounts to June 2025 shown as overdue at Companies House, no MiCA authorisation found after the Italian transition period ended on 30 June 2026 while the UK site still claims MiCA regulation, and a Trustpilot score of 2.4 with recent complaints about frozen accounts and migration losses. |
| Last checked | 24 September 2026 |
Wirex One terms, clause 11: suspension or termination for breach, suspected fraud, legal requirement, AML or sanctions, or risk; otherwise termination on at least two months' notice; suspension does not touch the self-custodial wallet. Chargebacks follow card-scheme rules with the timeframe set by the scheme. EEA issuer terms (TPML): unauthorised transactions reported within 13 months, complaints answered within 15 business days, 35 in exceptional cases. UK: Financial Ombudsman Service (official).
The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.
| FX | Foreign transaction fee free on every tier (official). Selling crypto to spend carries a variable spread shown in the app before confirming; no published percentage (official; third-party: cardpilled, 4 Sept 2026). official |
| Funding | No subscription fee. Virtual card on the free Base tier. Physical card from Premium, which needs a $500 portfolio with 1% held in WPAY; metal card from Private. Wirex One issuance and delivery fees not published (classic app: UK plastic delivery £5, international £15, metal £45). SEPA and Faster Payments top-ups free; crypto deposits cost network gas only; card top-up fee not stated (official). official |
| ATM | Fee-free monthly allowance $100 Base, $250 Premium, $750 Elite, $2,500 Private, unlimited Bespoke (official litepaper); fee beyond the allowance not published (classic app: 2%); limits €750 a day and €5,000 a month; no ATM use on the virtual card (official). |
| Tiers | Base (no minimum), Premium ($500 portfolio, 1% in WPAY), Elite ($2,500, 3%), Private ($25,000, 5%), Bespoke ($50,000, 10%). No subscription fee (official). |
Base 0.5%, Premium 1%, Elite 3%, Private 5%, Bespoke 8%, paid in USD; monthly caps $25, $100, $300, $1,000, $2,000; ATM withdrawals, crypto purchases, gambling and 30-plus merchant categories excluded (official).
Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.
Card offered in 72 countries including the UK, the EU states and the UAE; Saudi Arabia and the US not listed (official, Wirex One supported countries, updated 11 Sept 2026). The classic country table showed no card in the UAE, so the UAE sits on the verify list. official
Identity checks: Government photo ID plus a selfie, required before ordering a card (official).
Facts marked official come from Wirex's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:
CBL may earn a referral fee if you sign up through a link on this page. Referral links never change the Card Score.
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.