Tuyo CardTuyo Card scores 9 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Tuyo, Visa. Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account. Rain named; issuing institution not disclosed.
Watch. Card runs through Rain, a Visa Principal Member that is not a bank, and fiat sits with Bridge, a money transmitter, so there is no bank or EMI safeguarding statement, while no enforcement action or funds-access failure was found (official site; third-party Wikipedia citing Reuters, 9 Jan 2026).
| Criterion | Points | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Custody | 2 of 2 | Self-custodial. "We never take custody" and users hold private keys they control; the card spends USDC on Base from the user's own smart account (official, tuyo.com/faq and help.tuyo.com/guides/card). "A card rejection never changes your control of funds in the self-custodial Tuyo wallet" (official, card overview). Fiat balances sit with Bridge and are not FDIC insured (third-party: SpendNode, 21 Sep 2026). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Issuer and licence | 1 of 2 | Tuyo names Signify Holdings, Inc. ("Rain") for card issuance and says cards are issued by "licensed partner institutions" without naming them (official, tuyo.com, checked 20 Oct 2026). Rain operates as a Visa Principal Member (third-party: Wikipedia citing Reuters, 9 Jan 2026). No bank or e-money licence number, regulator or register entry found. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Availability | 0 of 2 | Tuyo is "generally available outside the platform-wide prohibited jurisdictions" and publishes a 27-country prohibited list; the United Kingdom is on it, EU states, the UAE and Saudi Arabia are not (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/tuyo-availability, verified 16 Jul 2026). The card "can be issued in most countries where Tuyo is generally available"; its provider restriction list names 17 countries plus 19 US states and six US territories, none of them in the EU or Gulf (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/tuyo-card-availability, verified 16 Jul 2026). The site says it "should not be accessed by people located in the United Kingdom" (official, tuyo.com). No positive country list is published. US served outside the excluded states (official). No waitlist (official). Only regions named as served on an official page count, so the EU and the Gulf stay unconfirmed. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase | 0 of 2 | 1% "when you spend in a currency other than USD", plus 1% "on any purchase made outside the US (charged by our card provider)", "Up to 2% total" (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/card and tuyo.com/faq, checked 20 Oct 2026). A European cardholder pays 2% on a dirham purchase in the UAE and 1% on a dollar purchase outside the US. Scored at 2% under the FX rule. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Funding cost | 2 of 2 | "Tuyo Card has no issuance, monthly or yearly fee" (official, tuyo.com/faq). Virtual card free and issued on KYC approval (official). No physical card yet: "A physical card is in the works and will be available soon" (official, tuyo.com/faq). Stablecoin top-up: USDC deposits on Base, Ethereum, Arbitrum, BNB Smart Chain or Polygon convert to Base USDC in the app; stablecoin-to-stablecoin trades and bridging skip the 0.25% trading fee, network fees may apply (official, tuyo.com/faq). Conversion described as free inside the app (third-party: SpendNode, 21 Sep 2026). No inactivity fee published. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Apple Pay and Google Pay | 2 of 2 | "Works with Apple Pay and Google Pay"; Apple or Google may reject the addition on their own risk checks (official, tuyo.com and help.tuyo.com/guides/card). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Freeze and dispute policy | 0 of 2 | No dispute, chargeback or card-freeze article in the help centre index of 31 guides, and the FAQ does not cover disputes (official, help.tuyo.com, checked 20 Oct 2026). The Terms of Service sit on a Notion page that did not render in this check, so no dispute window or response time could be read (official, about.tuyo.com). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Yield on idle balance | 2 of 2 | "Earn up to 4.0% APY on your USD balance", paid in real time, variable, from third-party DeFi strategies; the APY is an estimate from past performance and "returns can be negative" (official, tuyo.com and tuyo.com/faq, checked 20 Oct 2026). "Your everyday balance can earn interest and still be spent with the card" (official, FAQ). No lock period or paid tier is mentioned; strategy withdrawals "may be delayed" (official, FAQ). Strategies are not bank deposits and not deposit insured (official). | official checked 20 October 2026 |
Total 9 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.
| 20 October 2026 | 9 of 16 | First score |
| Company | Tuyo Inc., a US financial technology company that describes itself as "not a bank, cryptocurrency exchange, or asset custodian" (official, tuyo.com, checked 20 Oct 2026). Card issuance runs through Signify Holdings, Inc. ("Rain"); fiat services run through Bridge Ventures, Inc. ("Bridge"), described as a licensed US money transmitter (official, tuyo.com and tuyo.com/faq). Rain is a Visa Principal Member (third-party: Wikipedia citing Reuters, 9 Jan 2026). No licence or regulator is named for Tuyo Inc. itself (official). |
| Network | Visa (official; "Tuyo Visa card" on tuyo.com, ATM access "Supported at Visa ATMs" in the card overview). official |
| Rails | Tuyo names Signify Holdings, Inc. ("Rain") as its card issuance partner and says cards come from "licensed partner institutions" it does not name (official). Crypto stays in the user's self-custodial smart account; fiat balances sit with Bridge Ventures, Inc., a licensed US money transmitter (official). |
| Website | tuyo.com |
| Health tag | Watch Card runs through Rain, a Visa Principal Member that is not a bank, and fiat sits with Bridge, a money transmitter, so there is no bank or EMI safeguarding statement, while no enforcement action or funds-access failure was found (official site; third-party Wikipedia citing Reuters, 9 Jan 2026). |
| Last checked | 20 October 2026 |
No dispute, chargeback or card-freeze article in the help centre index of 31 guides, and the FAQ does not cover disputes (official, help.tuyo.com, checked 20 Oct 2026). The Terms of Service sit on a Notion page that did not render in this check, so no dispute window or response time could be read (official, about.tuyo.com).
The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.
| FX | 1% "when you spend in a currency other than USD", plus 1% "on any purchase made outside the US (charged by our card provider)", "Up to 2% total" (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/card and tuyo.com/faq, checked 20 Oct 2026). A European cardholder pays 2% on a dirham purchase in the UAE and 1% on a dollar purchase outside the US. Scored at 2% under the FX rule. official |
| Funding | "Tuyo Card has no issuance, monthly or yearly fee" (official, tuyo.com/faq). Virtual card free and issued on KYC approval (official). No physical card yet: "A physical card is in the works and will be available soon" (official, tuyo.com/faq). Stablecoin top-up: USDC deposits on Base, Ethereum, Arbitrum, BNB Smart Chain or Polygon convert to Base USDC in the app; stablecoin-to-stablecoin trades and bridging skip the 0.25% trading fee, network fees may apply (official, tuyo.com/faq). Conversion described as free inside the app (third-party: SpendNode, 21 Sep 2026). No inactivity fee published. official |
| ATM | Supported at Visa ATMs, $250 per withdrawal, three attempts in a rolling 24 hours, declines count; the $250 includes the ATM operator surcharge, whose amount is not stated (official, tuyo.com/faq and help.tuyo.com/guides/card). |
| Tiers | No named tiers. Daily card limit starts at up to $50,000 and rises to $100,000 and $200,000 as total spend grows (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/card). |
None published. "Buy Now, Pay Maybe": some card purchases are randomly covered by Tuyo. TUYOs are non-transferable reward points ahead of a token "we expect to launch in 2026" (official, tuyo.com/faq, checked 20 Oct 2026). Rewards listed as "TBD" (third-party: SpendNode, 21 Sep 2026).
Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.
Tuyo is "generally available outside the platform-wide prohibited jurisdictions" and publishes a 27-country prohibited list; the United Kingdom is on it, EU states, the UAE and Saudi Arabia are not (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/tuyo-availability, verified 16 Jul 2026). The card "can be issued in most countries where Tuyo is generally available"; its provider restriction list names 17 countries plus 19 US states and six US territories, none of them in the EU or Gulf (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/tuyo-card-availability, verified 16 Jul 2026). The site says it "should not be accessed by people located in the United Kingdom" (official, tuyo.com). No positive country list is published. US served outside the excluded states (official). No waitlist (official). Only regions named as served on an official page count, so the EU and the Gulf stay unconfirmed. official
Identity checks: Identity verification required before a card is issued; "A card application that is marked as rejected is final" (official, help.tuyo.com/guides/card). Document types not listed (official).
Facts marked official come from Tuyo's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.