Plasma OnePlasma One

Visit Plasma One →

Plasma One scores 10 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Plasma, Visa. Self-custodial; keys held via Privy. Rain, Visa member, no bank licence.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. Self-custody is documented and the issuer is named, but Rain is a Visa Principal Member with no published bank or EMI licence, Plasma is a Cayman company outside FCA or EU regulation, and the Earn balance carries DeFi protocol risk with no deposit protection (official).

CBL Card Score: 10 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody2 of 2Self-custodial. "Plasma One does not custody your assets" and "the stablecoin balance backing your Plasma One card is owned and custodied by you" (official, plasma.org/personal). The terms say users control non-custodial wallets, private keys are managed through Privy's infrastructure, and neither Plasma nor its key-management providers can view or regenerate the signing key (official, terms of service, updated 15 Jun 2026). Balances are not bank deposits and sit outside FDIC, FSCS and similar schemes (official).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence1 of 2"The Plasma One Card is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, pursuant to a license from Visa" (official, plasma.org/personal, checked 20 Oct 2026). The terms add that "Plasma is not the program manager or the issuer" (official). Rain holds no bank charter or EMI licence that Plasma or Rain publishes; a trade outlet reports Rain applied on 5 Oct 2026 to form a national trust bank in New York with no authorisation yet (third-party: TechFlow, checked 20 Oct 2026). DefiLlama lists the issuer as Third National, a Rain group name (third-party: DefiLlama, verified 19 Sep 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability1 of 2No positive country list is published. Documents from Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela are not accepted, and documents from Belarus, China, India, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Turkey, Vietnam, Nigeria and Sri Lanka are blocked except when the user lives in a supported country (official, help centre, 11 May 2026). The US is served in 31 named states, with Washington and Arizona excluded (official, same article). EEA residents contract with Bridge Building Sp. z o.o., and UK residents are addressed by a UK risk disclaimer and by referral terms that exclude them from some bonuses (official). A trade report says the staged rollout began in the Middle East (third-party: Stablecoin Insider, 17 Jun 2026, modified 5 Oct 2026), with no official confirmation for the UAE or Saudi Arabia. Access: the help centre says "Access is by invite only" (official, 2 Sep 2026), while the product page offers App Store and Google Play downloads with no invite step, and a review on 17 Oct 2026 says registration is open to anyone (third-party: kkinvesting). Scored on EU and UK.official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase0 of 2Lite: "1% Plasma FX markup, plus the Visa FX fee"; Core: 0.5% plus the Visa fee; Platinum: no FX fee, Visa rate with no markup (official, help centre, 17 Sep 2026). The fees article puts the Visa fee at about 1%, so a Lite cardholder pays about 2% on a non-USD purchase (official, fees article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Scored on Lite.official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2Lite costs $0 and includes one free virtual card (official, plasma.org/personal/lite). Crypto deposits carry a Plasma fee of 0.15% to 0.75% depending on the asset, the same on every tier, plus network, bridge or swap fees shown in the app (official, fees article). Fiat deposits: SEPA $0.50, GBP Faster Payments $0.50, ACH $1, wire $15 on Lite (official, fees article). Withdrawals: 1% plus the rail fee on Lite for SEPA, Faster Payments and wire; 0.75% plus the ACH fee (official). Physical card: not available on Lite; Core first card free (marked coming soon) with $20 standard or $50 express delivery; Platinum first card free with free standard delivery (official, help centre, checked 20 Oct 2026). No monthly or inactivity fee is listed (official).official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2"On iPhone, add your Plasma One card to Apple Pay. On Android, add it to Google Pay" (official, plasma.org/personal); separate help articles cover each (official, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy1 of 2Cards can be frozen and accounts locked in the app, with a help article on freezing (official). No dispute window, chargeback route or response time is published; the help centre says reversals "typically settle within 30 business days" (official, 2 Sep 2026), and the terms set a 45-day informal resolution step before arbitration under England and Wales law (official, terms of service). Card terms from the issuer were not found on the site.official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance2 of 2Earn moves stablecoins into a vault run on Veda infrastructure and deployed into Aave; rates are "variable and not guaranteed", and funds can be moved back to Cash at any time (official, help centre, 2 Sep 2026). Available on the free Lite tier, advertised as up to 5% a year, with up to 6% on the main page (official, plasma.org/personal/lite). No lock on Earn; the only locks are the 12-month XPL locks that buy Core or Platinum (official, rewards addendum, effective 26 Sep 2026). Not a deposit, no insurance, smart contract risk disclosed (official). Vault services are closed to New York residents (official, terms).official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 10 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 202610 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyPlasma, "an exempted company with limited liability incorporated under the laws of the Cayman Islands", with subsidiaries including Plasma Labs UK Ltd. and Plasma US, Inc. (official, terms of service, updated 15 Jun 2026). Plasma calls itself "a financial technology company, not a regulated financial institution" and "not an FCA-regulated firm" (official, plasma.org/personal and UK disclaimer, checked 20 Oct 2026). Fiat accounts are "powered by Bridge": Bridge Building Inc. for US residents, Bridge Building Sp. z o.o. for EEA residents, Bridge Building Limited for everyone else (official, plasma.org/personal). The card is issued by Rain, which is a Visa Principal Member and not a bank (official, plasma.org/personal; third-party: Wikipedia, checked 20 Oct 2026).
NetworkVisa (official). official
RailsRain, a Visa Principal Member, issues the card under licence from Visa; Plasma is neither the issuer nor the programme manager (official). Stablecoins stay in the user's own wallet with keys managed through Privy, and fiat virtual accounts run through Bridge entities by region (official).
Websitewww.plasma.org/personal
Health tagWatch Self-custody is documented and the issuer is named, but Rain is a Visa Principal Member with no published bank or EMI licence, Plasma is a Cayman company outside FCA or EU regulation, and the Earn balance carries DeFi protocol risk with no deposit protection (official).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Cards can be frozen and accounts locked in the app, with a help article on freezing (official). No dispute window, chargeback route or response time is published; the help centre says reversals "typically settle within 30 business days" (official, 2 Sep 2026), and the terms set a 45-day informal resolution step before arbitration under England and Wales law (official, terms of service). Card terms from the issuer were not found on the site.

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXLite: "1% Plasma FX markup, plus the Visa FX fee"; Core: 0.5% plus the Visa fee; Platinum: no FX fee, Visa rate with no markup (official, help centre, 17 Sep 2026). The fees article puts the Visa fee at about 1%, so a Lite cardholder pays about 2% on a non-USD purchase (official, fees article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Scored on Lite. official
FundingLite costs $0 and includes one free virtual card (official, plasma.org/personal/lite). Crypto deposits carry a Plasma fee of 0.15% to 0.75% depending on the asset, the same on every tier, plus network, bridge or swap fees shown in the app (official, fees article). Fiat deposits: SEPA $0.50, GBP Faster Payments $0.50, ACH $1, wire $15 on Lite (official, fees article). Withdrawals: 1% plus the rail fee on Lite for SEPA, Faster Payments and wire; 0.75% plus the ACH fee (official). Physical card: not available on Lite; Core first card free (marked coming soon) with $20 standard or $50 express delivery; Platinum first card free with free standard delivery (official, help centre, checked 20 Oct 2026). No monthly or inactivity fee is listed (official). official
ATMATM withdrawals are offered and earn no cashback; the fee was not found on the fees page (official, help centre article title; third-party: kkinvesting, 17 Oct 2026).
TiersLite $0. Core $199 a year or lock 20,000 XPL for 12 months. Platinum: lock 100,000 XPL for 12 months, no cash price listed (official, tier pages). Locked XPL cannot be withdrawn early (official, rewards addendum).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

Paid in XPL. Lite 2% headline, laddered by spend band in the help centre. Core 3% on the first $1,000 a month, 2% on the next $1,000, 1% on the next $1,000, 0.25% after that, plus 5% on AI subscriptions up to $500 a month. Platinum 4% on the first $3,000, 3% on the next $7,000, 2% on the next $5,000, 1% after that, plus 10% on AI spend and on eligible flights up to $600 a year (official, tier pages and rewards addendum, checked 20 Oct 2026). "Rates are variable and subject to change" (official).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

No positive country list is published. Documents from Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela are not accepted, and documents from Belarus, China, India, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Turkey, Vietnam, Nigeria and Sri Lanka are blocked except when the user lives in a supported country (official, help centre, 11 May 2026). The US is served in 31 named states, with Washington and Arizona excluded (official, same article). EEA residents contract with Bridge Building Sp. z o.o., and UK residents are addressed by a UK risk disclaimer and by referral terms that exclude them from some bonuses (official). A trade report says the staged rollout began in the Middle East (third-party: Stablecoin Insider, 17 Jun 2026, modified 5 Oct 2026), with no official confirmation for the UAE or Saudi Arabia. Access: the help centre says "Access is by invite only" (official, 2 Sep 2026), while the product page offers App Store and Google Play downloads with no invite step, and a review on 17 Oct 2026 says registration is open to anyone (third-party: kkinvesting). Scored on EU and UK. official

Identity checks: Identity document and proof of address through Sumsub, with a postal code required (official, help centre and terms).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Plasma's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Plasma One product page official · checked 20 October 2026Lite tier page official · checked 20 October 2026Core tier page official · checked 20 October 2026Platinum tier page official · checked 20 October 2026Terms of service, updated 15 Jun 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Rewards addendum, effective 26 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026UK disclaimer official · checked 20 October 2026Fees on Plasma One, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Does Plasma One charge FX fees, help centre, 17 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Countries and US states, help centre, 11 May 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026How do I get access, help centre, 2 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026How do I order a physical card, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026How do I earn, help centre, 2 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Why was my transaction reversed, help centre, 2 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Card and spending collection, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Plasma brand page official · checked 20 October 2026Veda on the Plasma One Earn vault, 25 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 25 August 2026Stablecoin Insider launch report, 17 Jun 2026 third-party · checked 17 June 2026kkinvesting review, 17 Oct 2026 third-party · checked 17 October 2026DefiLlama card entry, verified 19 Sep 2026 third-party · checked 19 September 2026Wikipedia on Rain third-party · checked 20 October 2026TechFlow on Rain's issuing structure third-party · checked 20 October 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Plasma One vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Plasma One vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Plasma One vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Plasma One vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Plasma One vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Plasma One vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Plasma One vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Plasma One vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Plasma One vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Plasma One vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Plasma One vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Plasma One vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
9/16Plasma One vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Plasma One vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Plasma One vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Plasma One vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Plasma One vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Plasma One vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Plasma One vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Plasma One vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Plasma One vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Plasma One vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Plasma One vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Plasma One vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Plasma One vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Plasma One vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Plasma One vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Plasma One vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Plasma One vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Plasma One vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Plasma One vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Plasma One vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Plasma One vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Plasma One vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Plasma One vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Plasma One vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Plasma One vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Plasma One vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Plasma One vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Plasma One vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →