MetaMask CardMetaMask Card

Visit MetaMask Card →

MetaMask Card scores 11 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. MetaMask, Mastercard. Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet. Monavate, FCA e-money licence; Crypto Life provider.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. The named issuer is an FCA-authorised e-money institution and funds never leave the user's wallet, but MetaMask misspells the issuer, does not map issuing entities to regions, publishes no card terms or dispute timelines on its own site, and has closed UK and US sign-ups by its own product page (official).

CBL Card Score: 11 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody2 of 2Self-custodial. The card "spends assets directly from your MetaMask wallet" and users keep custody of tokens until the moment of payment (official, card FAQ and metamask.io/card, checked 20 Oct 2026). Users delegate tokens and set spending limits inside the wallet; the delegation is cleared at the time of each transaction (official, what-is-metamask-card). No safeguarding statement is needed for the card balance because no balance is held by the issuer.official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2"Crypto Life is the provider of the MetaMask Card, Monovate is the card issuer and Mastercard operates the payment network" (official, support.metamask.io card FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). MetaMask spells the name Monovate; the issuer's own site spells it Monavate. Monavate Ltd is "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority with Firm Reference Number 901097" and is a principal member of Mastercard; UAB Monavate is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania (official, monavate.com, checked 20 Oct 2026). MetaMask does not say which Monavate entity issues in which region.official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability0 of 2The help centre lists 48 sign-up countries, including most of the EEA, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Canada, Bahrain, Oman and nine Latin American countries (official, support.metamask.io what-is-metamask-card, checked 20 Oct 2026). The United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia are not listed. The US is "not currently available for sign-ups" and has a waitlist (official, same page). The product page states "Signups for MetaMask Card in the US and the UK are temporarily closed" (official, metamask.io/card, checked 20 Oct 2026), which conflicts with the help centre list. Scored on the EEA alone while the product page keeps UK sign-ups closed.official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase1 of 2"MetaMask Card currently provides the best foreign exchange rate allowed by MasterCard, and doesn't charge any additional fees" (official, card FAQ). The fee table then adds a 1% cross-border fee on the Free tier when the merchant is outside the cardholder's country, waived on Metal (official, limits-and-fees, checked 20 Oct 2026). Spending a stablecoin that is in neither the cardholder's nor the merchant's local currency costs 0.5% (official, same page). A European cardholder paying in US dollars with USDC pays the Mastercard rate plus the 1% cross-border fee.official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2No top-up; the card draws from delegated wallet tokens, with "no fee, no minimum balance" to delegate (official, limits-and-fees). Stablecoins in the cardholder's local currency: no fee. Stablecoins in a third currency: 0.5%. DeFi or tokenised yield tokens such as aUSDC: free up to $1,200 a month, then 0.5%. Other crypto such as wETH: 0.875%. Network gas per transaction, typically about $0.01 (official, limits-and-fees). Virtual card: $0 annual fee (official). Metal card: $199 a year, $99 replacement, and "not currently available for new users" (official, limits-and-fees and what-is-metamask-card). No physical card is sent to new users (official, card FAQ). No inactivity fee published.official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2Apple Pay and Google Pay, with the Google section describing Google Wallet on Android (official, support.metamask.io using, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy1 of 2Refunds are to be requested from the merchant first; failing that, "you can request a chargeback from Crypto Life support" and refunds land in a Credits balance (official, card FAQ). No dispute window, response time or complaints timeline is published on the help centre. Closing the card also goes through Crypto Life support (official, card FAQ). No freeze or lock article found. Card terms from Crypto Life were not found on the MetaMask site.official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance2 of 2The MetaMask Money Account, which the card can spend from, "earns up to 4% APY on deposited mUSD", variable and not guaranteed, with "no lockups, no withdrawal penalties, and no account fees" and no minimum deposit (official, support.metamask.io money-account, checked 20 Oct 2026). A limited-time offer of about 6% APY ran until 30 Sep 2026 (official, same page). The Money Account is self-custodial, yields come from DeFi vaults on Morpho curated by Steakhouse Financial (third-party: The Block, 30 Jun 2026). Not available in the UK (official, money-account page).official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 11 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 202611 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyConsensys Software Inc. builds MetaMask (official, metamask.io footer). The card programme is run by Crypto Life, the card platform of Baanx.com Ltd, which MetaMask's help centre calls "the provider of the MetaMask Card" (official, support.metamask.io card FAQ). Baanx.com Ltd holds an electronic money institution licence for the UK and EU/EEA and a UK credit broking licence, per the launch press release (official, Consensys, 14 Aug 2024). MetaMask names "Monovate" as the card issuer (official, card FAQ). Monavate Ltd is an e-money institution authorised by the FCA under Firm Reference Number 901097, with UAB Monavate authorised by the Bank of Lithuania (official, monavate.com, checked 20 Oct 2026).
NetworkMastercard (official). official
RailsMetaMask names Monovate as issuer and Crypto Life (Baanx) as provider, with Mastercard as the network (official). Money is never held by either party; the card settles from tokens the user delegates in a self-custodial wallet, and rewards and yield sit in the self-custodial Money Account (official).
Websitemetamask.io/card
Health tagWatch The named issuer is an FCA-authorised e-money institution and funds never leave the user's wallet, but MetaMask misspells the issuer, does not map issuing entities to regions, publishes no card terms or dispute timelines on its own site, and has closed UK and US sign-ups by its own product page (official).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Refunds are to be requested from the merchant first; failing that, "you can request a chargeback from Crypto Life support" and refunds land in a Credits balance (official, card FAQ). No dispute window, response time or complaints timeline is published on the help centre. Closing the card also goes through Crypto Life support (official, card FAQ). No freeze or lock article found. Card terms from Crypto Life were not found on the MetaMask site.

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FX"MetaMask Card currently provides the best foreign exchange rate allowed by MasterCard, and doesn't charge any additional fees" (official, card FAQ). The fee table then adds a 1% cross-border fee on the Free tier when the merchant is outside the cardholder's country, waived on Metal (official, limits-and-fees, checked 20 Oct 2026). Spending a stablecoin that is in neither the cardholder's nor the merchant's local currency costs 0.5% (official, same page). A European cardholder paying in US dollars with USDC pays the Mastercard rate plus the 1% cross-border fee. official
FundingNo top-up; the card draws from delegated wallet tokens, with "no fee, no minimum balance" to delegate (official, limits-and-fees). Stablecoins in the cardholder's local currency: no fee. Stablecoins in a third currency: 0.5%. DeFi or tokenised yield tokens such as aUSDC: free up to $1,200 a month, then 0.5%. Other crypto such as wETH: 0.875%. Network gas per transaction, typically about $0.01 (official, limits-and-fees). Virtual card: $0 annual fee (official). Metal card: $199 a year, $99 replacement, and "not currently available for new users" (official, limits-and-fees and what-is-metamask-card). No physical card is sent to new users (official, card FAQ). No inactivity fee published. official
ATMFree tier: 2% plus any operator fee, $1,000 per transaction and per day. Metal: no fee up to $1,200 a month, then 2%, $5,000 a day (official, limits-and-fees). The card FAQ states that only US cardholders can withdraw cash, while the product page lists free ATM withdrawals as a feature (official, conflicting pages).
TiersFree (Virtual): $0. Metal: $199 a year, closed to new users (official, limits-and-fees and what-is-metamask-card, checked 20 Oct 2026).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

1% back in mUSD on eligible card transactions for the Virtual card; 3% for Metal on the first $10,000 spent, then 1% (official, metamask.io/card, checked 20 Oct 2026). The Money Account page states 3% on Metal without the cap. Paid to the Money Account as mUSD. Dining: 5X $FLY via Blackbird on Virtual, 7X on Metal (official, card FAQ).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

The help centre lists 48 sign-up countries, including most of the EEA, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Canada, Bahrain, Oman and nine Latin American countries (official, support.metamask.io what-is-metamask-card, checked 20 Oct 2026). The United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia are not listed. The US is "not currently available for sign-ups" and has a waitlist (official, same page). The product page states "Signups for MetaMask Card in the US and the UK are temporarily closed" (official, metamask.io/card, checked 20 Oct 2026), which conflicts with the help centre list. Scored on the EEA alone while the product page keeps UK sign-ups closed. official

Identity checks: "Proof of residency is required to sign up for MetaMask Card" (official, card FAQ). Identity check details not published.

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from MetaMask's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

MetaMask Card product page official · checked 20 October 2026MetaMask Card FAQ, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026What is MetaMask Card, help centre, country list official · checked 20 October 2026MetaMask Card limits and fees, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Using MetaMask Card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Money Account, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Consensys press release, MetaMask, Mastercard and Baanx, 14 Aug 2024 official · checked 20 October 2026Monavate post on the Canada launch, FCA FRN 901097 in the footer, 15 May 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026The Block on the Money Account 4% APY, 30 Jun 2026 third-party · checked 30 June 2026The Defiant on the EU and UK launch, 14 Aug 2024 third-party · checked 20 October 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16MetaMask Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16MetaMask Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16MetaMask Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16MetaMask Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16MetaMask Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16MetaMask Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16MetaMask Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16MetaMask Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16MetaMask Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
10/16MetaMask Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16MetaMask Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16MetaMask Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16MetaMask Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16MetaMask Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16MetaMask Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16MetaMask Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16MetaMask Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16MetaMask Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16MetaMask Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16MetaMask Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16MetaMask Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16MetaMask Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16MetaMask Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16MetaMask Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16MetaMask Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16MetaMask Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16MetaMask Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16MetaMask Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16MetaMask Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16MetaMask Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16MetaMask Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16MetaMask Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16MetaMask Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16MetaMask Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16MetaMask Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16MetaMask Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16MetaMask Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16MetaMask Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16MetaMask Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16MetaMask Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →