ether.fi Cashether.fi Cash

Visit ether.fi Cash →

ether.fi Cash scores 13 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. ether.fi, Visa. Self-custodial. Third National, money transmitter, named in the cardholder agreement.

Health Check · checked 28 September 2026

Watch. Non-bank issuer, funds sit in smart contracts, no deposit protection. Large live programme: more than 75,000 active cards as of March 2026 (Rain).

CBL Card Score: 13 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody2 of 2Self-custodial. Funds stay in the user's own smart-contract account and the card settles from it. Two modes: Direct Pay spends USDC first, then LiquidUSD; Borrow mode borrows against collateral with interest from day one, about 4% APY (third-party). Rain's case study states users retain ownership of their assets at all times (official, Rain).official
checked 28 September 2026
Issuer and licence1 of 2Card infrastructure and daily Visa settlement by Rain (official, Rain). ether.fi's own cardholder agreements (US version of 5 February 2026, international versions of 8 September 2026) say the card is issued by Third National under a licence from Visa (official). Third National is the trading name of Nimbus LLC, a US money transmitter, NMLS 2612780 (third-party: cardpilled, 22 Sept 2026; crypto.news, 5 Aug 2026). The legal entity and licence number appear on no ether.fi page.official
checked 28 September 2026
Availability2 of 2The help centre lists 90 countries and territories for the physical card, including most EU states, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, the UAE and other Gulf states, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and Nigeria; Belgium and Ireland are eligible but get no physical card. US: 30 states plus DC, 20 states excluded (official). USD card; euro support announced as coming (official). ATM use blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar (official).official
checked 28 September 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase1 of 2Core tier: about 1% base rate plus a 0 to 0.5% margin. Luxe: about 1% plus 0 to 0.25%. Pinnacle and VIP: no added margin (official). Scored on Core, the tier a new user gets.official
checked 28 September 2026
Funding cost1 of 2Stablecoin top-up on-chain, no platform fee. No annual fee at any tier (official). One virtual card free on Core in most regions; a $10 first-card fee applies in 14 countries, none of them in the EU, UK or Gulf (official). The physical card is not free on Core: one help centre article prices it at $50 (Luxe and Pinnacle $100, with one or two free cards included), another says free with a shipping fee. Metal cards included from Luxe up (official). The $40 refundable deposit reported by cardpilled appears on no official page.official
checked 28 September 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2Apple Pay and Google Pay (official, Rain; ether.fi help centre carries an Apple and Google Wallet article).official
checked 28 September 2026
Freeze and dispute policy2 of 2Freeze is self-serve in the app and immediate (official). Disputes go through Visa's process via in-app support; a disputed charge must be reported within 60 days of the statement and a dispute can take up to 60 days to complete. The US cardholder agreement adds acknowledgement within 30 days and a decision within 90 days, with liability for unauthorised use capped at $50 (official).official
checked 28 September 2026
Yield on idle balance2 of 2In Direct Pay the balance can sit in LiquidUSD, an ether.fi yield vault. Withdrawals can be requested at any time, run through a queue of up to 3 days (7 for the Liquid USD RWA vault) and carry a discount of about 1 basis point; no lock-up and no paid tier (official, ether.fi docs and help centre).official
checked 28 September 2026

Total 13 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

28 September 202613 of 16Funding 2 to 1: the physical card is not free on Core per ether.fi's own help centre ($50, or free plus a shipping fee); the $40 refundable deposit was a third-party claim. Freeze and dispute 1 to 2: 60-day dispute window and up to 60 days to resolve, from the help centre and the cardholder agreement. Yield 1 to 2: LiquidUSD withdrawals at any time with no lock, from the ether.fi docs.
23 September 202612 of 16First score

Standing

Companyether.fi
NetworkVisa official
RailsRain runs the card infrastructure and daily Visa settlement (official, Rain case study). Card issued by Third National under a Visa licence (official, ether.fi cardholder agreements). Third National is the trading name of Nimbus LLC, which Rain's privacy policy lists among the affiliates of Signify Holdings, Inc., the company operating as Rain (official, Rain privacy policy, 16 July 2026). Nimbus LLC is licensed as a money transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico, NMLS 2612780 (official, Third National site, checked 30 Sept 2026).
Card spend, August 2026$109.5M, tracked onchain by Paymentscan (third-party). Not part of the Card Score.
Websitewww.ether.fi/personal
Health tagWatch Non-bank issuer, funds sit in smart contracts, no deposit protection. Large live programme: more than 75,000 active cards as of March 2026 (Rain).
Last checked28 September 2026

When it goes wrong

Freeze is self-serve in the app and immediate (official). Disputes go through Visa's process via in-app support; a disputed charge must be reported within 60 days of the statement and a dispute can take up to 60 days to complete. The US cardholder agreement adds acknowledgement within 30 days and a decision within 90 days, with liability for unauthorised use capped at $50 (official).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXCore tier: about 1% base rate plus a 0 to 0.5% margin. Luxe: about 1% plus 0 to 0.25%. Pinnacle and VIP: no added margin (official). Scored on Core, the tier a new user gets. official
FundingStablecoin top-up on-chain, no platform fee. No annual fee at any tier (official). One virtual card free on Core in most regions; a $10 first-card fee applies in 14 countries, none of them in the EU, UK or Gulf (official). The physical card is not free on Core: one help centre article prices it at $50 (Luxe and Pinnacle $100, with one or two free cards included), another says free with a shipping fee. Metal cards included from Luxe up (official). The $40 refundable deposit reported by cardpilled appears on no official page. official
ATM$1,000 per withdrawal, at most five in any rolling 24 hours, $5,000 total (official). 2% fee (third-party). Free, up to 10 withdrawals a month, for Pinnacle and VIP (official).
TiersCore free. Luxe: 5,000 membership points, or a $15,000 Liquid deposit, or 30,000 ETHFI staked, or $199 a year. Pinnacle: 25,000 points, or $100,000 Liquid, or 150,000 ETHFI, or $999 a year. VIP: $500,000 Liquid or 500,000 ETHFI (official, help centre article updated 15 Sept 2026).

Cashback, as of 28 Sept 2026

3% on the first $2,000 of monthly spend at Core, then 1% to $3,000 and 0.5% above; Luxe 3% to $10,000 and Pinnacle 3% to $50,000, stepping down the same way; VIP 4% on the first $50,000. Paid in ETHFI with a 7-day lock, $5 minimum to claim (official). The overall $1,000 monthly cap reported by cardpilled appears on no official page; the programme terms let ether.fi cap monthly rewards at its discretion.

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

The help centre lists 90 countries and territories for the physical card, including most EU states, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, the UAE and other Gulf states, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and Nigeria; Belgium and Ireland are eligible but get no physical card. US: 30 states plus DC, 20 states excluded (official). USD card; euro support announced as coming (official). ATM use blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar (official). official

Identity checks: Identity verification required.

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from ether.fi's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

ether.fi Cash Cardholder Agreement, Inc. (International), 8 Sept 2026 official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi Cash Cardholder Agreement, Inc. (U.S.), 5 Feb 2026 official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, in which countries is the Cash card available official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, fees and limits official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, membership level benefits official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, benefits of a personal Cash credit card (physical card fee table) official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, why is there a $10 fee for my first virtual Cash card official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, disputing a card transaction official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, how do I freeze or block my card official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, how does cashback work official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, typical Liquid withdrawal timelines official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi docs, Liquid FAQs (withdrawal queue and discount) official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, membership levels official · checked 28 September 2026ether.fi help centre, Cash collection official · checked 28 September 2026Rain case study on ether.fi official · checked 23 September 2026Rain privacy policy, 16 July 2026 official · checked 30 September 2026Third National site official · checked 30 September 2026cardpilled review, checked 22 Sept 2026 third-party · checked 22 September 2026cryptocardnavi review, checked 2 June 2026 third-party · checked 2 June 2026crypto.news on Third National as issuer of Rain cards, 5 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 5 August 2026
Paymentscan, EtherFi card page third-party · checked 29 September 2026

CBL may earn a referral fee if you sign up through a link on this page. Referral links never change the Card Score.

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16ether.fi Cash vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
12/16ether.fi Cash vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16ether.fi Cash vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16ether.fi Cash vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16ether.fi Cash vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16ether.fi Cash vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16ether.fi Cash vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16ether.fi Cash vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16ether.fi Cash vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16ether.fi Cash vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16ether.fi Cash vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16ether.fi Cash vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16ether.fi Cash vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16ether.fi Cash vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16ether.fi Cash vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16ether.fi Cash vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16ether.fi Cash vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16ether.fi Cash vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16ether.fi Cash vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16ether.fi Cash vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16ether.fi Cash vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16ether.fi Cash vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16ether.fi Cash vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16ether.fi Cash vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16ether.fi Cash vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16ether.fi Cash vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16ether.fi Cash vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16ether.fi Cash vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16ether.fi Cash vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16ether.fi Cash vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16ether.fi Cash vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16ether.fi Cash vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16ether.fi Cash vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16ether.fi Cash vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16ether.fi Cash vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16ether.fi Cash vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16ether.fi Cash vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16ether.fi Cash vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16ether.fi Cash vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16ether.fi Cash vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →