Crypto.com Visa CardCrypto.com Visa Card

Visit Crypto.com Visa Card →

Crypto.com Visa Card scores 7 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Crypto.com, Visa. Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found. Foris MT, group's own Malta e-money institution.

Health Check · checked 12 October 2026

Watch. Strong licences (an MFSA e-money licence and MiCA authorisation in Malta), but the issuer sits inside the same group as the exchange, the EEA card pages do not state how card funds are safeguarded, and the Dutch central bank fined Crypto.com €2.85 million in 2024 for operating without registration (third-party).

CBL Card Score: 7 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody0 of 2Custodial. A prepaid card loaded with fiat; crypto is converted before it can be spent (official). The UK page says funds received are held in a segregated account (official, crypto.com/uk/cards). No safeguarding statement found on the EEA card pages (official, checked 12 Oct 2026).official
checked 12 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2Issued in the EEA by Foris MT Limited under its Visa principal member licence; Foris MT is an MFSA-authorised electronic money institution (official, crypto.com/eea/cards). The issuer belongs to the Crypto.com group, with no outside bank behind it.official
checked 12 October 2026
Availability1 of 2EEA, UK and US (official). A Mastercard version serves Bahrain and select GCC markets (official). The UAE and Saudi Arabia are not named on any official card page; one UAE outlet listed the card as coming soon (third-party: Gulf News, 12 July 2025).official
checked 12 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase0 of 2Entry tier (Midnight Blue): 0.2% on purchases in EEA and UK currencies, 2% outside (official, fee page for Europe, updated 31 July 2026, rates from 1 Oct 2026). Paid tiers get a monthly allowance before the 2% applies: €400 on Plus, €800 on Pro, no fee on Private (official). Scored on the entry tier at 2%.official
checked 12 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2No fee listed for crypto or bank transfer top-ups; 1% on bank card top-ups (official, fee page for Europe). The spread on converting crypto or stablecoins to card balance is not published on the fee page (official). Physical card €4.99 on the entry tier (official). Inactivity fee €6 a month after 12 months without use (official, from 1 Oct 2026). No monthly fee on the entry tier (official).official
checked 12 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2Apple Pay and Google Pay in the EU (official, help centre, virtual card article, 20 July 2026).official
checked 12 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy1 of 2Help centre: chargebacks can be raised up to 120 days after the transaction and are generally resolved within 30 to 45 days (official, help centre, 15 Sept 2025). Complaints policy: acknowledged within 2 working days, final reply within 15 working days (official, 20 Nov 2025). The EEA cardholder agreement was not reviewed in this check, so the timelines rest on help articles.official
checked 12 October 2026
Yield on idle balance0 of 2No yield on the card balance (official). A separate EUR Cash Yield product, run by Foris Capital CY under a CySEC licence, is advertised with no lock-up and rates that depend on tier (official, 9 Apr 2026), and it sits apart from the card balance.official
checked 12 October 2026

Total 7 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

12 October 20267 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyCrypto.com. In the EEA the card comes from Foris MT Limited, a Malta electronic money institution authorised by the MFSA (C 90348); crypto services sit with Foris DAX MT Limited, authorised under MiCA in Malta (official, crypto.com/eea/cards footer). In the UK, ForisGFS UK Limited, an FCA electronic money institution, FRN 988571 (official). In the US, Community Federal Savings Bank, Member FDIC (official, US card terms, effective 1 Sept 2026).
NetworkVisa (official). A separate prepaid Mastercard serves Bahrain and select GCC markets (official, help centre, 1 Sept 2026). official
RailsCrypto.com issues its EEA card through its own Malta e-money institution, Foris MT Limited, a Visa principal member (official). UK cards come from ForisGFS UK Limited (official); US cards from Community Federal Savings Bank (official).
Websitecrypto.com/eea/cards
Health tagWatch Strong licences (an MFSA e-money licence and MiCA authorisation in Malta), but the issuer sits inside the same group as the exchange, the EEA card pages do not state how card funds are safeguarded, and the Dutch central bank fined Crypto.com €2.85 million in 2024 for operating without registration (third-party).
Last checked12 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Help centre: chargebacks can be raised up to 120 days after the transaction and are generally resolved within 30 to 45 days (official, help centre, 15 Sept 2025). Complaints policy: acknowledged within 2 working days, final reply within 15 working days (official, 20 Nov 2025). The EEA cardholder agreement was not reviewed in this check, so the timelines rest on help articles.

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXEntry tier (Midnight Blue): 0.2% on purchases in EEA and UK currencies, 2% outside (official, fee page for Europe, updated 31 July 2026, rates from 1 Oct 2026). Paid tiers get a monthly allowance before the 2% applies: €400 on Plus, €800 on Pro, no fee on Private (official). Scored on the entry tier at 2%. official
FundingNo fee listed for crypto or bank transfer top-ups; 1% on bank card top-ups (official, fee page for Europe). The spread on converting crypto or stablecoins to card balance is not published on the fee page (official). Physical card €4.99 on the entry tier (official). Inactivity fee €6 a month after 12 months without use (official, from 1 Oct 2026). No monthly fee on the entry tier (official). official
ATMFree each month: €200 on Midnight Blue, €400, €800, €800 and €1,000 on the higher tiers, then 2% (official, fee page for Europe).
TiersMidnight Blue free. Ruby €3.99 a month or €450 of CRO staked for 12 months. Jade and Indigo €24.99 a month or €4,500 staked. Icy and Rose €45,000 staked. Obsidian €450,000 staked (official).

Cashback, as of 12 Oct 2026

Paid in CRO by tier: Midnight Blue 0%, Ruby 1.5% (cap $750 a month), Jade and Indigo 2.5% (cap $1,500), Icy and Rose 3.5% (cap $3,000), Obsidian 4.5% (cap $5,000) (official, crypto.com/eea/cards, checked 12 Oct 2026).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

EEA, UK and US (official). A Mastercard version serves Bahrain and select GCC markets (official). The UAE and Saudi Arabia are not named on any official card page; one UAE outlet listed the card as coming soon (third-party: Gulf News, 12 July 2025). official

Identity checks: Identity verification in the app (official).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Crypto.com's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Crypto.com EEA card page official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com UK card page official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com help centre, Visa Card fees and limits for Europe, updated 31 July 2026 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com help centre, virtual card, 20 July 2026 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com help centre, prepaid Mastercard fees and limits for Bahrain and select GCC markets, 1 Sept 2026 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com help centre, chargebacks, 15 Sept 2025 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com help centre, complaints handling policy, 20 Nov 2025 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com US card terms, effective 1 Sept 2026 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com on its MiCA licence, 21 Mar 2025 official · checked 12 October 2026Crypto.com Cash Yield launch, 9 Apr 2026 official · checked 12 October 2026Gulf News, how UAE residents can pay in crypto, Crypto.com Visa listed as coming soon, 12 July 2025 third-party · checked 20 October 2026De Nederlandsche Bank enforcement notice, EUR 2,850,000 fine on a crypto service provider for operating without registration, imposed 2 Oct 2023, published 13 Mar 2024 official · checked 20 October 2026NL Times, Dutch central bank fines Crypto.com EUR 2.85 million, 13 Mar 2024 third-party · checked 20 October 2026

CBL may earn a referral fee if you sign up through a link on this page. Referral links never change the Card Score.

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Crypto.com Visa Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →