Bitpanda CardBitpanda Card

Visit Bitpanda Card →

Bitpanda Card scores 11 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Bitpanda, Visa. Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA. Transact Payments Malta, MFSA e-money licence.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. The issuer is a Maltese e-money institution and Bitpanda holds a BaFin MiCAR licence with a written segregation statement for crypto, but the current safeguarding agreement for the card's e-money could not be located, and the legal page on the site still shows the pre-2025 Contis terms (official).

CBL Card Score: 11 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody1 of 2Custodial. The card spends from the Bitpanda account. A "Main payment asset" (EUR, any listed crypto, or a precious metal) is converted to EUR at the moment of payment and taken from the EUR wallet (official, bitpanda.com/en/card). Client crypto is held by Bitpanda GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH under MiCA, "operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets" (official, summary of custody policy 1.1.0). For the e-money behind the card, the TPML cardholder agreement says only "please refer to your agreement with the Account Provider in relation to the safeguarding of your funds" (official, clause 22.2, 8 Apr 2025). Bitpanda GmbH states it holds no e-money for the card (official, card terms 2.0.0).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2Transact Payments Malta Limited, "authorised by the Malta Financial Services Authority an electronic money institution", company registration number 91879, issuing under its own Visa licence (official, TPML cardholder agreement, 8 Apr 2025). The card page repeats the MFSA registration as C 91879 (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). The MFSA register entry itself was not reached in this check.official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability0 of 2Verified Bitpanda users with "residency in a euro area country" (official, card page and help centre FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). Users verified by Bankident cannot order. Not offered in the UK, the UAE, Saudi Arabia or the US (official country scope).official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase2 of 2"Non-EUR FX fee: €0 (Visa mark-up fees still apply)" on the card page, and "Foreign exchange charge: 0%, on top of Visa's mark-up" in the TPML fee schedule (official, 8 Apr 2025). Bitpanda adds no markup of its own, so the Visa scheme rate applies. Third parties estimate the Visa conversion at 1% to 2% but publish no figure (third-party: SpendNode, 17 Aug 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2Account opening, monthly cost and initial shipment free; virtual and physical card fee 0 (official, card page and TPML fee schedule). Replacement €5.90, each additional physical card €10, expired card replaced free (official). No inactivity fee listed. SEPA deposits in EUR carry no Bitpanda fee; PayPal deposits cost 1.49% (official, help centre fees article). Paying with crypto or a stablecoin triggers Bitpanda's usual trading premium on the sale to EUR, and the premium is not published as a percentage (official, card terms 2.0.0 and help centre fees article). Paying from the EUR wallet carries no conversion fee.official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2"Yes, you can add your Bitpanda Card to Apple Pay or Google Pay" (official, help centre FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy2 of 2Card can be blocked and unblocked in the app at any time (official, FAQ and TPML agreement clause 11.2). Unauthorised or incorrect transactions must be reported "no later than 13 months after the Transaction date", with refunds "no later than the end of the following business day after being notified" (official, TPML agreement clause 11.7). Refund requests for payee-initiated transactions within 8 weeks of debit (clause 11.12). Chargeback processing fee 0. Complaints: Bitpanda customer service replies within 15 business days, TPML gives a formal response within 35 business days (clauses 15.2 and 15.4). Bitpanda handles "reception and processing of pre-dispute filings" (official, card terms 2.0.0).official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance1 of 2The card spends from the EUR wallet, which pays no interest (official, Bitpanda Payments terms). Bitpanda Cash Plus pays a gross variable yield on EUR of 2.50% "as of 10/2026" via money market funds, with no lock and withdrawal at any time, after an appropriateness test and a derivative contract (official, bitpanda.com/en/bitpanda-cash-plus and help centre article 8028034097436). Whether the card draws straight from a Cash Plus balance is not stated on either page.official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 11 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 202611 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyBitpanda. Bitpanda GmbH, Vienna, distributes the card and holds a MiCAR licence from BaFin, granted January 2025 (official, blog.bitpanda.com, 27 Jan 2025). Bitpanda Payments GmbH is the group's Austrian e-money institution, registered with the FMA, commercial register FN 501412 x, but its terms (version 2.0.1, 24 Nov 2022) do not mention the card (official). The card itself is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited (TPML), with Marqeta, Inc. as programme manager (official, card terms 2.0.0, 1 Apr 2025).
NetworkVisa (official). official
RailsTransact Payments Malta Limited issues the card under its MFSA e-money licence, with Marqeta, Inc. as programme manager (official). Client crypto sits with Bitpanda GmbH under MiCA; e-money safeguarding is delegated to the account provider agreement (official).
Websitebitpanda.com/en/card
Health tagWatch The issuer is a Maltese e-money institution and Bitpanda holds a BaFin MiCAR licence with a written segregation statement for crypto, but the current safeguarding agreement for the card's e-money could not be located, and the legal page on the site still shows the pre-2025 Contis terms (official).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Card can be blocked and unblocked in the app at any time (official, FAQ and TPML agreement clause 11.2). Unauthorised or incorrect transactions must be reported "no later than 13 months after the Transaction date", with refunds "no later than the end of the following business day after being notified" (official, TPML agreement clause 11.7). Refund requests for payee-initiated transactions within 8 weeks of debit (clause 11.12). Chargeback processing fee 0. Complaints: Bitpanda customer service replies within 15 business days, TPML gives a formal response within 35 business days (clauses 15.2 and 15.4). Bitpanda handles "reception and processing of pre-dispute filings" (official, card terms 2.0.0).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FX"Non-EUR FX fee: €0 (Visa mark-up fees still apply)" on the card page, and "Foreign exchange charge: 0%, on top of Visa's mark-up" in the TPML fee schedule (official, 8 Apr 2025). Bitpanda adds no markup of its own, so the Visa scheme rate applies. Third parties estimate the Visa conversion at 1% to 2% but publish no figure (third-party: SpendNode, 17 Aug 2026). official
FundingAccount opening, monthly cost and initial shipment free; virtual and physical card fee 0 (official, card page and TPML fee schedule). Replacement €5.90, each additional physical card €10, expired card replaced free (official). No inactivity fee listed. SEPA deposits in EUR carry no Bitpanda fee; PayPal deposits cost 1.49% (official, help centre fees article). Paying with crypto or a stablecoin triggers Bitpanda's usual trading premium on the sale to EUR, and the premium is not published as a percentage (official, card terms 2.0.0 and help centre fees article). Paying from the EUR wallet carries no conversion fee. official
ATM2% or €2, whichever is higher, plus any ATM operator fee; daily ATM limit €500, not increasable (official, card page and FAQ).
TiersSingle card, the "Bitpanda Visa Platinum", no tiers (official). BEST VIP fee discounts remain for legacy members until the end of 2026 (official, Cash Plus help article).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

"All users receive a flat 1% cashback on eligible purchases paid with cryptocurrencies", paid in the same crypto (official, help centre FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). Purchases funded by EUR, precious metals, stocks or stablecoins (USDT, USDC, EUROCV) earn nothing (official). The card page metadata still reads "up to 2%", a leftover from the earlier BEST VIP scheme (official, checked 20 Oct 2026).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

Verified Bitpanda users with "residency in a euro area country" (official, card page and help centre FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). Users verified by Bankident cannot order. Not offered in the UK, the UAE, Saudi Arabia or the US (official country scope). official

Identity checks: Verified Bitpanda account with proof of residency in a euro area country; Bankident-verified users excluded (official).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Bitpanda's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Bitpanda Card page official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda Card terms, version 2.0.0, 1 Apr 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026TPML cardholder agreement (Marqeta account), last updated 8 Apr 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda card account terms, Contis version official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda card FAQs, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda Payments GmbH terms, version 2.0.1, 24 Nov 2022 official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda fees and premiums explained, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda Cash Plus page official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda Cash Plus help article, yields as of 10/2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Summary of custody policy 1.1.0 official · checked 20 October 2026Bitpanda secures MiCAR licence, blog, 27 Jan 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026FinanceMalta directory, TransactPay third-party · checked 20 October 2026SpendNode review, verified 17 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 17 August 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Bitpanda Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Bitpanda Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Bitpanda Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Bitpanda Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Bitpanda Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Bitpanda Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Bitpanda Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Bitpanda Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Bitpanda Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Bitpanda Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Bitpanda Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Bitpanda Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Bitpanda Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Bitpanda Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Bitpanda Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Bitpanda Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Bitpanda Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Bitpanda Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Bitpanda Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Bitpanda Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Bitpanda Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Bitpanda Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Bitpanda Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Bitpanda Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Bitpanda Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Bitpanda Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Bitpanda Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Bitpanda Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Bitpanda Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Bitpanda Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Bitpanda Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Bitpanda Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Bitpanda Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Bitpanda Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Bitpanda Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Bitpanda Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Bitpanda Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Bitpanda Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Bitpanda Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Bitpanda Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →