Gnosis Pay CardGnosis Pay Card

Visit Gnosis Pay Card →

Gnosis Pay Card scores 12 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Gnosis Pay, Visa. Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain. Monavate, FCA and Bank of Lithuania e-money.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. The card is issued by Monavate under FCA and Bank of Lithuania e-money licences and funds are self-custodied, but Gnosis Pay closed new sign-ups on 30 Sep 2026 and the direct consumer card stops working on 20 Dec 2026 (official help article; third-party: Crypto Briefing, 24 Sep 2026).

Not open to new applicants

Closed to new applicants since 30 Sep 2026; existing cards stop on 20 Dec 2026 (official help centre; date from Crypto Briefing and The Defiant, 24 Sep 2026).

CBL Card Score: 12 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody2 of 2Self-custodial. Funds sit in a Safe smart account on Gnosis Chain owned by the user's own wallet, and the FAQ says funds are "only ever stored on Safe" (official, help FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). The cardholder terms say supported funds in the Safe are not a deposit, earn no interest, and are not covered by any deposit guarantee scheme or the FSCS (official, EEA and non-EEA cardholder terms). After the consumer shutdown, funds stay under the user's control and withdrawals remain open (official, "Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?" help article).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2UK and other non-EEA cards: Monavate Ltd, England and Wales, registered number 12472532, authorised by the FCA to issue electronic money and provide payment services, FCA registration 901097, Visa principal member (official, non-EEA cardholder terms). EEA cards: UAB Monavate, Lithuania, entity code 305628001, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania to issue electronic money and provide payment services, authorisation code LB002139901097 (official, EEA cardholder terms).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability0 of 2The country page lists 35 supported countries: 30 EEA states plus Switzerland, the UK, Argentina, Brazil (card issuance through PicNic only) and Colombia; Mexico is "coming soon"; no UAE, Saudi Arabia or US (official, help centre country page, checked 20 Oct 2026). New card sign-ups were disabled on 30 Sep 2026 and no new cards are issued to existing accounts (official, "Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?" help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). The direct consumer card stops working on 20 Dec 2026 at 23:59 UTC, with cardholders pointed to partner apps (third-party: Crypto Briefing, 24 Sep 2026; The Defiant, 24 Sep 2026). Scored 0 as closed to new applicants.official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase2 of 2Gnosis Pay adds no conversion fee on non-EUR spend; Visa's exchange rate applies at the time of purchase (official, "Understanding Your Card's Fees and Limits" help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Purchases settle 1:1 from EURe, GBPe or USDCe. A third party puts the Visa rate at 0.2% to 0.4% above mid-market (third-party: SpendNode, 26 Sep 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost2 of 2Card order free, delivery of the physical card included; no transaction fee on purchases; replacement card 4.99 EURe, GBPe or USDCe including delivery; no monthly fee listed (official, fees and limits help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Top-ups are on-chain transfers of EURe, GBPe or USDCe to the user's Safe on Gnosis Chain, with gas as the only cost (official). An older FAQ article still shows "EUR 30.23 to purchase the card" (official, help FAQ, no date shown). Scored on the current fees page.official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2Google Wallet supported in the EEA, Switzerland, Gibraltar, the UK and Brazil (official, Google Wallet help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Apple Pay supported except for users in the UK, Switzerland, Gibraltar and Brazil (official, Apple Pay help article, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy2 of 2Unauthorised transactions must be reported without undue delay and no later than 13 months after the transaction date; the issuer refunds "without delay", and liability is capped at EUR 50 before a loss is reported (official, EEA cardholder terms, section 12). Refund requests on authorised transactions within 8 weeks, with a decision within 10 business days (official, both cardholder terms, section 13). Complaints: acknowledgement within 24 hours and a final response within 15 business days, extendable by 20 business days, with escalation to the Financial Ombudsman Service for UK residents or the Bank of Lithuania for EEA residents (official, cardholder terms). Chargebacks are not named in the terms. Card freezing sits in the app; no dedicated help article was found.official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance0 of 2None on the consumer card. The cardholder terms state that supported funds earn no interest (official, EEA and non-EEA cardholder terms). The partner-facing homepage mentions "auto-yield deposits" for wallets with no rate or terms (official, gnosispay.com, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 12 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 202612 of 16First score; closed to new applicants

Standing

CompanyGnosis Pay. Card programme manager for UK and other non-EEA cardholders is Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, England and Wales, company number 14919639 (official, non-EEA cardholder terms). For EEA cardholders the programme manager is Herois Dos Sinonimos, Unipessoal LDA, Portugal (official, EEA cardholder terms). Since 3 Sep 2026 Gnosis Pay has been winding down its own consumer card and web app to become a card programme manager for partner apps (official, gnosispay.com/blog/gnosis-pay-the-next-era).
NetworkVisa (official). official
RailsMonavate Ltd (UK, FCA) and UAB Monavate (Lithuania, Bank of Lithuania) issue the Visa card, with Gnosis Pay as programme manager (official). Money never leaves the user's Safe on Gnosis Chain until a purchase settles (official).
Websitegnosispay.com
Health tagWatch The card is issued by Monavate under FCA and Bank of Lithuania e-money licences and funds are self-custodied, but Gnosis Pay closed new sign-ups on 30 Sep 2026 and the direct consumer card stops working on 20 Dec 2026 (official help article; third-party: Crypto Briefing, 24 Sep 2026).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Unauthorised transactions must be reported without undue delay and no later than 13 months after the transaction date; the issuer refunds "without delay", and liability is capped at EUR 50 before a loss is reported (official, EEA cardholder terms, section 12). Refund requests on authorised transactions within 8 weeks, with a decision within 10 business days (official, both cardholder terms, section 13). Complaints: acknowledgement within 24 hours and a final response within 15 business days, extendable by 20 business days, with escalation to the Financial Ombudsman Service for UK residents or the Bank of Lithuania for EEA residents (official, cardholder terms). Chargebacks are not named in the terms. Card freezing sits in the app; no dedicated help article was found.

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXGnosis Pay adds no conversion fee on non-EUR spend; Visa's exchange rate applies at the time of purchase (official, "Understanding Your Card's Fees and Limits" help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Purchases settle 1:1 from EURe, GBPe or USDCe. A third party puts the Visa rate at 0.2% to 0.4% above mid-market (third-party: SpendNode, 26 Sep 2026). official
FundingCard order free, delivery of the physical card included; no transaction fee on purchases; replacement card 4.99 EURe, GBPe or USDCe including delivery; no monthly fee listed (official, fees and limits help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). Top-ups are on-chain transfers of EURe, GBPe or USDCe to the user's Safe on Gnosis Chain, with gas as the only cost (official). An older FAQ article still shows "EUR 30.23 to purchase the card" (official, help FAQ, no date shown). Scored on the current fees page. official
ATM5 free withdrawals a month or up to 200 EURe, GBPe or USDCe, whichever comes first, then 2% per withdrawal; 250 per withdrawal and 500 a day (official, fees and limits help article, checked 20 Oct 2026).
TiersNone for the consumer card. Cashback tiers by GNO held are above and have ended (official).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

Ended. The GNO cashback programme closed on 30 Sep 2026 across partners (official, "Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?" help article). Before that: 1% with 0.1 GNO held, 2% with 1 GNO, 3% with 10 GNO, 4% with 100 GNO, plus 1% for OG NFT holders up to 5%, with weekly caps from $250 to $1,250 (third-party: SpendNode, 26 Sep 2026).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

The country page lists 35 supported countries: 30 EEA states plus Switzerland, the UK, Argentina, Brazil (card issuance through PicNic only) and Colombia; Mexico is "coming soon"; no UAE, Saudi Arabia or US (official, help centre country page, checked 20 Oct 2026). New card sign-ups were disabled on 30 Sep 2026 and no new cards are issued to existing accounts (official, "Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?" help article, checked 20 Oct 2026). The direct consumer card stops working on 20 Dec 2026 at 23:59 UTC, with cardholders pointed to partner apps (third-party: Crypto Briefing, 24 Sep 2026; The Defiant, 24 Sep 2026). Scored 0 as closed to new applicants. official

Identity checks: Fractal handles KYC: age 18 or over, residence in an eligible country, ID document, proof of address and a liveness selfie (official, help FAQ).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Gnosis Pay's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Gnosis Pay homepage official · checked 20 October 2026Gnosis Pay: The Next Era, blog, 3 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Understanding Your Card's Fees and Limits, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Supported countries, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Monavate Cardholder Terms EEA official · checked 20 October 2026Monavate Cardholder Terms Non-EEA official · checked 20 October 2026Adding your card to Google Wallet, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Using Apple Pay with your Gnosis Pay card, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Gnosis Pay FAQs, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Crypto Briefing, Gnosis Pay shuts down consumer cards, 24 Sep 2026 third-party · checked 24 September 2026The Defiant, Gnosis Pay sets 20 Dec card shutdown, 24 Sep 2026 third-party · checked 24 September 2026SpendNode review, 26 Sep 2026 third-party · checked 26 September 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Gnosis Pay Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Gnosis Pay Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Gnosis Pay Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Gnosis Pay Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Gnosis Pay Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Gnosis Pay Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Gnosis Pay Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →