Brighty CardBrighty Card

Visit Brighty Card →

Brighty Card scores 8 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Brighty, Mastercard. Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto. UAB Monavate, Bank of Lithuania e-money licence.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. The card runs on UAB Monavate, a Bank of Lithuania licensed e-money institution, but Brighty itself holds only a Swiss VQF SRO membership, its cardholder terms were not found on its site, no complaints timeline is published, and Apple Pay for the Mastercard is suspended (official).

CBL Card Score: 8 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody1 of 2Custodial. The general terms say fiat in a "Segregated Fiat Payment Account" is "held by the relevant Partner and are not held by BTY", and that client crypto receiving addresses are "Segregated Crypto Accounts", with omnibus assets not "commingled with Crypto Assets belonging to BTY itself" (official, general terms, 01.10.2026). The help centre says user funds sit in segregated accounts that staff and partners cannot access without the owner's consent (official, help article, 17 Sep 2026). Custody infrastructure is Fireblocks, with proof of reserves published (official, home page). Sandbox deposits are not covered by the Swiss deposit protection scheme (official, general terms).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2The general terms say "The regulated issuer identified in the applicable cardholder terms is the legal issuer of the Payment Cards" and name Monavate as "BIN sponsor and programme partner" (official, general terms, 01.10.2026). The cardholder terms themselves were not found on the site. UAB Monavate holds electronic money institution licence No. 92 from the Bank of Lithuania, issued 31 Mar 2022, company code 305628001, covering issuing of e-money and payment instruments (official, Bank of Lithuania register). A review names UAB Monavate as the card and e-money wallet issuer (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability0 of 2The app is available in the EU and EEA, plus Montenegro, Serbia, Andorra, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Monaco and Moldova, with proof of address in one of those places required at sign-up (official, help article "Where can I use the Brighty App?", checked 20 Oct 2026). The UK, the Gulf and the US are not listed. No waitlist.official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase1 of 2The fees article (figures "as of 15/09/26") lists currency exchange at 0.6% on the free One plan with no free allowance, 0.5% on Plus above €2,000 a month, and 0.4% on Pro above €5,000 a month (official). No separate foreign-currency card transaction fee is listed for the Mastercard; a review notes the old Visa card carried a 2% foreign transaction fee that no longer appears on the Mastercard row (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026). Scored on the 0.6% One plan rate.official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2Virtual Mastercard issue fee €2.99 on every plan, one card included on One, two on Plus, three on Pro, up to 10 cards a month; monthly card service fee free; balance inquiry free (official, fees article, 15 Sep 2026). Crypto deposits free on all plans, no monthly limit (official). Fiat deposits by SEPA or Faster Payments cost 0.3% with a €10 minimum, SWIFT 0.7% with a €50 minimum (official). Physical card: the help centre says users can pick virtual or physical, but no physical card fee is published (official, help article, 6 Jul 2026); a review says physical Mastercard orders are unavailable (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026). A €5 a month dormancy fee after six months of inactivity is reported under the January 2026 general terms (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026); the current terms fetched for this check did not show it.official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay1 of 2Google Pay works with the Mastercard. Apple Pay "is currently unavailable for Mastercard cards" for maintenance, with only the older Visa cards supported (official, help article, 26 May 2026). The site has an Apple Pay setup page with no date or status (official, brighty.app/en/applePay).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy1 of 2Freeze and unfreeze in the app at any time; termination is final and cannot be reversed (official, help article "Card Issuance, Freezing and Termination", 6 Jul 2026). Complaints go to support@brighty.app and "BTY will handle complaints in accordance with its internal procedures and applicable law", with no time window or response time stated (official, general terms, 01.10.2026). Chargeback responsibilities are deferred to the card programme agreements (official, general terms, section 8.4). No dispute window found.official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance1 of 2Earning vaults, "up to 10% APY", are a separate product from the card; returns "fluctuate" with the market and the help article gives no fixed rate, lock period or plan requirement (official, help article "How do Brighty Earning Vaults work?", checked 20 Oct 2026). A review describes an optional daily reward on card-linked stablecoin balances paid in USDC, with the rate varying by subscription and able to fall to 0% without notice; no current rate stated (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 8 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 20268 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyBrighty. The platform is operated by BTY Digital AG, a Swiss stock corporation in Baar, UID CHE-352.538.716, member no. 100917 of VQF, a self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the Swiss anti-money laundering act (official, imprint). The company states it is "a financial technology company, not a bank" and that "payment cards, custody, and on/off ramp services are provided by licensed partners" (official). The general terms (last revised 01.10.2026) name Monavate as BIN sponsor and programme partner, Marqeta for card processing and AllPay for card production (official). An older Visa programme ran on Wallester's white-label infrastructure for the EEA, under the entity Brighty Digital UAB (third-party: Wallester blog, undated, checked 20 Oct 2026).
NetworkMastercard (official, "Powered by Mastercard" on the home page; the fees article lists a "Virtual Mastercard"). Older cards were Visa (official help article on Apple Pay, 26 May 2026). official
RailsBrighty's general terms name Monavate as BIN sponsor and programme partner, and say the legal issuer is the regulated issuer in the cardholder terms (official). UAB Monavate holds e-money licence No. 92 from the Bank of Lithuania (official register). Fiat sits with partners in segregated accounts, and crypto custody runs on Fireblocks (official).
Websitebrighty.app
Health tagWatch The card runs on UAB Monavate, a Bank of Lithuania licensed e-money institution, but Brighty itself holds only a Swiss VQF SRO membership, its cardholder terms were not found on its site, no complaints timeline is published, and Apple Pay for the Mastercard is suspended (official).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Freeze and unfreeze in the app at any time; termination is final and cannot be reversed (official, help article "Card Issuance, Freezing and Termination", 6 Jul 2026). Complaints go to support@brighty.app and "BTY will handle complaints in accordance with its internal procedures and applicable law", with no time window or response time stated (official, general terms, 01.10.2026). Chargeback responsibilities are deferred to the card programme agreements (official, general terms, section 8.4). No dispute window found.

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXThe fees article (figures "as of 15/09/26") lists currency exchange at 0.6% on the free One plan with no free allowance, 0.5% on Plus above €2,000 a month, and 0.4% on Pro above €5,000 a month (official). No separate foreign-currency card transaction fee is listed for the Mastercard; a review notes the old Visa card carried a 2% foreign transaction fee that no longer appears on the Mastercard row (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026). Scored on the 0.6% One plan rate. official
FundingVirtual Mastercard issue fee €2.99 on every plan, one card included on One, two on Plus, three on Pro, up to 10 cards a month; monthly card service fee free; balance inquiry free (official, fees article, 15 Sep 2026). Crypto deposits free on all plans, no monthly limit (official). Fiat deposits by SEPA or Faster Payments cost 0.3% with a €10 minimum, SWIFT 0.7% with a €50 minimum (official). Physical card: the help centre says users can pick virtual or physical, but no physical card fee is published (official, help article, 6 Jul 2026); a review says physical Mastercard orders are unavailable (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026). A €5 a month dormancy fee after six months of inactivity is reported under the January 2026 general terms (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026); the current terms fetched for this check did not show it. official
ATMNot published for the Mastercard. Legacy Visa rates reported as €3.50 (Plus) and €3 (Pro) in the EEA, plus 3.5% and 3% outside it (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026).
TiersOne (free, default), Plus and Pro (paid; prices "outlined in the Brighty application") (official, subscription terms, last revised 07.02.2024). Plus €9 a month and Pro €18 a month reported (third-party: cryptocardhub, 11 Aug 2026).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

0.5% in USDC on eligible purchases on all plans; selected categories 1.25% to 1.75% depending on plan; monthly caps USDC 20 on One, USDC 60 on Plus, USDC 100 on Pro (official, help article "What is Cashback?", 5 Mar 2026). Excludes ATM withdrawals, transfers, top-ups, gambling, crypto purchases and Curve pass-through cards; most cashback posts within 5 business days and moves to the Reward Box the next month (official, cashback terms, 01.10.2026).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

The app is available in the EU and EEA, plus Montenegro, Serbia, Andorra, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Monaco and Moldova, with proof of address in one of those places required at sign-up (official, help article "Where can I use the Brighty App?", checked 20 Oct 2026). The UK, the Gulf and the US are not listed. No waitlist. official

Identity checks: Identity verification through Sumsub with an admissible ID document and proof of address in a supported country (official, help centre).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Brighty's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Brighty home page official · checked 20 October 2026Imprint, BTY Digital AG official · checked 20 October 2026Brighty App General Terms and Conditions, last revised 01.10.2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Terms and Policies index official · checked 20 October 2026Fees and Limits help article, figures as of 15 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Card Issuance, Freezing and Termination help article, 6 Jul 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Apple Pay and Google Pay help article, 26 May 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Where can I use the Brighty App? help article official · checked 20 October 2026What is Cashback? help article, 5 Mar 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Cashback Terms and Conditions, last revised 01.10.2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Brighty One Subscription Terms, last revised 07.02.2024 official · checked 20 October 2026How do Brighty Earning Vaults work? help article official · checked 20 October 2026The Most Common Questions about Brighty help article, 17 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Apple Pay page official · checked 20 October 2026Bank of Lithuania licence register, UAB Monavate official · checked 20 October 2026cryptocardhub review, updated 11 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 11 August 2026Wallester blog on the earlier Visa programme, undated third-party · checked 20 October 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Brighty Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Brighty Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Brighty Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Brighty Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Brighty Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Brighty Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Brighty Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Brighty Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Brighty Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Brighty Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Brighty Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Brighty Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Brighty Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Brighty Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Brighty Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Brighty Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Brighty Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Brighty Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Brighty Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Brighty Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Brighty Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Brighty Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Brighty Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Brighty Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Brighty Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Brighty Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Brighty Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Brighty Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Brighty Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Brighty Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Brighty Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Brighty Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Brighty Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Brighty Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Brighty Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Brighty Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Brighty Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Brighty Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Brighty Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Brighty Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →