CL CardCL Card

Visit CL Card →

CL Card scores 9 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Ledger and Baanx, Visa or Mastercard. Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate. UAB Monavate, Bank of Lithuania e-money licence.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. Issued by licensed e-money institutions with a safeguarding statement, but CL Card confirmed in October 2026 that an unauthorised party reached personal data of some US accounts through a third-party provider, and third parties reported paused card funding and paused UK issuance in August 2026 (official incident notice; third-party: CryptoCardHub).

CBL Card Score: 9 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody1 of 2Hybrid. Crypto stays in the user's own Ledger wallet until it is sent to the card; "once transferred, they are no longer under self-custody" (official, ledger-card page). On conversion, possession of the crypto passes to Baanx (official, CL Platform Terms 2025, sections 1 and 5.2). Money loaded to the card is e-money held in an "E-money Safeguarded Account" maintained by Monavate Ltd, an FCA-authorised e-money institution; fiat left in the platform wallet "is not e-money" and the terms say it is not safeguarded (official, CL Platform Terms 2025). The Monavate cardholder terms say the issuer follows the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 and that funds are not covered by the FSCS (official, Nov 2023).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2EEA: UAB Monavate, Vilnius, legal entity code 305628001, "authorised and regulated by the Bank of Lithuania under Authorisation Code: LB002139" (official, Monavate cardholder terms, Nov 2023). UK: Monavate Ltd, company 12472532, "FCA registered number 901097" (official, ledger-card page). US: Cross River Bank, Member FDIC (official, shop.ledger.com).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability1 of 2"currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil" (official, ledger-card page FAQ, page modified 26 Nov 2025). The same page's hero still reads "US starting soon", and the October 2026 incident notice refers to US user accounts, so the US is served. No Gulf country is listed. New York and Vermont excluded in the US (third-party: CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase2 of 2"Debit card payment in a foreign currency: €0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value" (official, Fee Information Document, UAB Monavate, 3 Nov 2023). The issuer adds no markup on the entry card. The separate CL Platform Fees page did not render in this check, and the cardholder terms (section 9.2) refer to a currency conversion margin set there. SpendNode lists 1.75% on non-base-currency spend (third-party, 3 Aug 2026); CryptoCardHub reads the same 1.75% as the crypto conversion fee and the FX fee as €0 (third-party, 11 Aug 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost0 of 2Virtual card free (official, shop.ledger.com "Free virtual card"). Physical card issuance €0.00, monthly maintenance €0.00, replacement €5.00, cancellation €3.50 (official, Fee Information Document, 3 Nov 2023). Delivery fee not found. The crypto conversion fee on spending is not published on any official page that rendered; third parties report a 1.75% conversion fee plus a 2% card spend fee on crypto-funded transactions (third-party: SpendNode, 3 Aug 2026; CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026). EUR card loads from a bank balance cost €2 below €56 or €0.60 plus 2.49% above (third-party: CryptoCardHub). Bank withdrawals 3.49% (third-party: SpendNode).third-party
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2"Use your card with Apple Pay and Google Pay" (official, shop.ledger.com). Google Pay terms published at withcl.com/legal (official).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy1 of 2Card can be blocked by reporting lost or stolen credentials; the issuer may suspend "immediately" on suspected fraud (official, Monavate cardholder terms, sections 11.2 and 14). Unauthorised transactions must be reported "no later than 1 month from the date of the payment transaction" (section 12.3); no refund timing, "We may carry out an investigation prior to issuing you with any refund" (section 12.4). Chargebacks are not mentioned in the cardholder terms. Complaints: acknowledged within three working days, written reply within 15 business days, at most 35 business days (official, CL Platform Terms 2025).official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance0 of 2None on the card balance (official pages, nothing stated). Ledger offers crypto-backed credit lines through Cryptodraft and Stableloans "from 0%", closed to US residents (official, ledger-card page); borrowing, not yield.official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 9 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 20269 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyLedger promotes the card; it is "provided by Baanx" (official, ledger.com/en/ledger-card and shop.ledger.com). Contracting entities by region: Baanx Group Ltd (UK), Baanx US Corp (US) and Frozen Time UNIPESSOAL LDA (EU) (official, ledger-card page footnote). The CL platform operator is Baanx.com Ltd, London, UK company number 11155611 (official, CL Platform Terms of Use, Monavate 2025). Card and account issuers: UAB Monavate in the EEA, Monavate Ltd in the UK (FCA 901097), and Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, in the US (official).
NetworkVisa in the US, "The VISA debit card offered in the US is in partnership with Cross River Bank, Member FDIC" (official, shop.ledger.com). The official EEA and UK pages checked do not name the scheme; the card launched on Mastercard in the UK and Europe (third-party: Blockworks, 24 Nov 2022) and withcl.com carries a Mastercard logo (official), while current reviews list Visa (third-party: SpendNode, 3 Aug 2026). official
RailsBaanx runs the CL platform and holds crypto once it is sent to the card (official). UAB Monavate (Bank of Lithuania) and Monavate Ltd (FCA) issue the e-money account and card in the EEA and UK, and Cross River Bank issues the US Visa debit card (official).
Websitewww.ledger.com/en/ledger-card
Health tagWatch Issued by licensed e-money institutions with a safeguarding statement, but CL Card confirmed in October 2026 that an unauthorised party reached personal data of some US accounts through a third-party provider, and third parties reported paused card funding and paused UK issuance in August 2026 (official incident notice; third-party: CryptoCardHub).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Card can be blocked by reporting lost or stolen credentials; the issuer may suspend "immediately" on suspected fraud (official, Monavate cardholder terms, sections 11.2 and 14). Unauthorised transactions must be reported "no later than 1 month from the date of the payment transaction" (section 12.3); no refund timing, "We may carry out an investigation prior to issuing you with any refund" (section 12.4). Chargebacks are not mentioned in the cardholder terms. Complaints: acknowledged within three working days, written reply within 15 business days, at most 35 business days (official, CL Platform Terms 2025).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FX"Debit card payment in a foreign currency: €0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value" (official, Fee Information Document, UAB Monavate, 3 Nov 2023). The issuer adds no markup on the entry card. The separate CL Platform Fees page did not render in this check, and the cardholder terms (section 9.2) refer to a currency conversion margin set there. SpendNode lists 1.75% on non-base-currency spend (third-party, 3 Aug 2026); CryptoCardHub reads the same 1.75% as the crypto conversion fee and the FX fee as €0 (third-party, 11 Aug 2026). official
FundingVirtual card free (official, shop.ledger.com "Free virtual card"). Physical card issuance €0.00, monthly maintenance €0.00, replacement €5.00, cancellation €3.50 (official, Fee Information Document, 3 Nov 2023). Delivery fee not found. The crypto conversion fee on spending is not published on any official page that rendered; third parties report a 1.75% conversion fee plus a 2% card spend fee on crypto-funded transactions (third-party: SpendNode, 3 Aug 2026; CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026). EUR card loads from a bank balance cost €2 below €56 or €0.60 plus 2.49% above (third-party: CryptoCardHub). Bank withdrawals 3.49% (third-party: SpendNode). third-party
ATMCash withdrawal in the UK €2.50 per withdrawal; foreign-currency withdrawal €3.00 plus 1.5%; balance enquiry €0.35 (official, Fee Information Document, 3 Nov 2023). Daily limits differ between reviews ($500, SpendNode; €2,000, CryptoCardHub).
TiersOne card, virtual and physical, no paid tiers (official). Credit lines vary by country of residence (official).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

1% in BTC or USDT outside the US, 1% in BTC or USDC in the US, paid monthly on the month's total card transactions, "No staking required" (official, ledger-card page and shop.ledger.com, checked 20 Oct 2026). The ledger-card hero still shows "2% in BXX", the older Baanx token reward (official; third-party: Blockworks, 24 Nov 2022).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

"currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil" (official, ledger-card page FAQ, page modified 26 Nov 2025). The same page's hero still reads "US starting soon", and the October 2026 incident notice refers to US user accounts, so the US is served. No Gulf country is listed. New York and Vermont excluded in the US (third-party: CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026). official

Identity checks: Identity check in the Ledger Wallet or Ledger Live app before the card is issued; the official pages checked give no detail (official). Accounts capped at €1,000 or $1,000 until extra proof is approved (third-party: CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Ledger and Baanx's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Ledger card page, modified 26 Nov 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026CL Card shop page (ledger.com/cl-card redirects here) official · checked 20 October 2026CL legal index official · checked 20 October 2026Fee Information Document, UAB Monavate, 3 Nov 2023 official · checked 20 October 2026Crypto Life Card cardholder terms, Monavate, Nov 2023 official · checked 20 October 2026CL Platform Terms of Use, Monavate 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026CL Platform Fees page, body did not render official · checked 20 October 2026CL Card Google Pay terms, undated official · checked 20 October 2026CL Card help centre, October 2026 incident section official · checked 20 October 2026What happened?, affected users emailed 1 Oct 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Can I still use my card? official · checked 20 October 2026Blockworks, Ledger rolls out Crypto Life card, 24 Nov 2022 third-party · checked 20 October 2026SpendNode review, verified 3 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 3 August 2026CryptoCardHub review, 11 Aug 2026 third-party · checked 11 August 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16CL Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16CL Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16CL Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16CL Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16CL Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16CL Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16CL Card vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16CL Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16CL Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16CL Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16CL Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16CL Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16CL Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16CL Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16CL Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16CL Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16CL Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16CL Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16CL Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16CL Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16CL Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16CL Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16CL Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16CL Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16CL Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16CL Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16CL Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16CL Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16CL Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16CL Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16CL Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16CL Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16CL Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16CL Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16CL Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16CL Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16CL Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16CL Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16CL Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16CL Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →