Krak CardKrak Card

Visit Krak Card →

Krak Card scores 12 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Kraken, Mastercard and Visa. Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland. UAB Monavate, Bank of Lithuania e-money licence.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. Card issued by a Bank of Lithuania licensed e-money institution with a published safeguarding statement for the e-money wallet, but Kraken's parent paid $30 million in February 2023 to settle SEC charges over its US staking programme, and the Everyday balance carries no deposit guarantee (official SEC release; official terms).

CBL Card Score: 12 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody1 of 2Custodial. The card spends only from the Krak Everyday balance, which sits apart from the Kraken trading portfolio (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026). In the EEA the fiat balance is an e-money wallet held by Payward Ireland Limited, and the terms say "funds of an equivalent value to the Fiat Currency held in your Kraken E-Money Wallet will be 'safeguarded'" (official, EEA Terms, 14 Oct 2026). The Irish Deposit Guarantee Scheme does not apply (official). In the US, funds sit "in a pooled account at Citibank, N.A." and are not FDIC-insured (official, krak.app/card).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence2 of 2"Both the Kraken and Krak Card are issued by UAB Monavate, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania" (official, EEA Terms, 14 Oct 2026). UAB Monavate holds electronic money institution licence No. 92 from the Bank of Lithuania, issued 31 Mar 2022 (official, Bank of Lithuania register); Kraken's blog cites authorisation code LB002139 for the same entity (official, 13 Jul 2026). UK card issued by Monavate Limited, FCA FRN 901097 (official, Kraken blog). US card issued by Lead Bank under a Visa licence (official, krak.app/card).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability1 of 2"Currently available to verified Kraken users in the UK and EEA" (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026). A US version is open to "eligible residents in most U.S. states", with New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana excluded (official, krak.app/card). No UAE or Saudi offer found. Not waitlist-only.official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase2 of 2UK and EEA: "We don't charge FX fees", and the Mastercard rate is passed on with no markup (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026; official, krak.app/pricing, checked 20 Oct 2026). A variable spread applies when the card sells crypto to fund a purchase; spending from a fiat balance carries no spread (official). US card: Visa rate plus 1% (official, krak.app/pricing). Scored on the European product.official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2Virtual card free, plastic card free, delivery free; plastic replacement €4.99 or £4.99; metal card free with a 30-day average balance of €50,000 or £50,000, metal replacement €60 or £60 (official, krak.app/pricing and krak.app/card, checked 20 Oct 2026). Crypto deposits free, SEPA and Faster Payments deposits free; card, Apple Pay or Google Pay deposits cost €0.25 plus 3.75% (official, krak.app/pricing). Instant Buy/Sell conversion is a fixed 1%, and a variable, unpublished spread applies when crypto or stablecoin is sold at the point of spending (official, krak.app/pricing). No monthly, annual or inactivity fee (official, FAQ).official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2Apple Pay and Google Pay, added during card setup (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy2 of 2Freeze from the card home screen in the Krak app (official, FAQ). Disputes are filed from the transaction details screen; "Investigations may take 45 to 60 days, though many are resolved much sooner" (official, disputes article, 8 Oct 2026). Under the EEA Terms, unauthorised transactions must be reported "as soon as possible and within 13 months of the date of the first affected transaction", and Kraken "will normally refund your Kraken E-Money Wallet by the end of the next Business Day"; complaints get an answer within 15 business days and a final reply within 35 business days (official, EEA Terms, 14 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance1 of 2Auto Earn pays rewards on eligible crypto held in the account, including certain stablecoins such as EURC, with assets still tradeable and withdrawable; Kraken takes a 30% commission on staking rewards and the pricing page lists 25% of yield for Vaults and 30% for AutoEarn (official, Auto Earn overview, 16 Sep 2026; official, krak.app/pricing). Fiat balances in EUR or GBP are not listed as earning. Kraken's launch release cites "up to 3.6% yield opportunities on eligible assets" (official, Business Wire, 25 Nov 2025). Not available in the US.official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 12 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 202612 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyKraken (Payward). In the EEA the e-money wallet behind the card is provided by Payward Ireland Limited, an electronic money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland (register C453020), and crypto services by Payward Europe Solutions Limited, a MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland (register C468360) (official, EEA Terms, effective 14 Oct 2026). In the UK, Payward Services Limited is FCA-authorised for e-money and payment services (FRN 1010381) (official, Kraken blog, 13 Jul 2026). In the US the card is a separate Visa product issued by Lead Bank, with money transmission by Payward Interactive, Inc. (NMLS 1843762) (official, krak.app/card).
NetworkMastercard in the UK and EEA; Visa in the US (official). official
RailsKraken names UAB Monavate (Bank of Lithuania EMI licence No. 92) as the card issuer for the EEA and Monavate Limited (FCA FRN 901097) for the UK (official). The fiat balance is an e-money wallet held and safeguarded by Payward Ireland Limited, a Central Bank of Ireland EMI (official). The US card is issued by Lead Bank with funds pooled at Citibank (official).
Websitekrak.app/card
Health tagWatch Card issued by a Bank of Lithuania licensed e-money institution with a published safeguarding statement for the e-money wallet, but Kraken's parent paid $30 million in February 2023 to settle SEC charges over its US staking programme, and the Everyday balance carries no deposit guarantee (official SEC release; official terms).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Freeze from the card home screen in the Krak app (official, FAQ). Disputes are filed from the transaction details screen; "Investigations may take 45 to 60 days, though many are resolved much sooner" (official, disputes article, 8 Oct 2026). Under the EEA Terms, unauthorised transactions must be reported "as soon as possible and within 13 months of the date of the first affected transaction", and Kraken "will normally refund your Kraken E-Money Wallet by the end of the next Business Day"; complaints get an answer within 15 business days and a final reply within 35 business days (official, EEA Terms, 14 Oct 2026).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXUK and EEA: "We don't charge FX fees", and the Mastercard rate is passed on with no markup (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026; official, krak.app/pricing, checked 20 Oct 2026). A variable spread applies when the card sells crypto to fund a purchase; spending from a fiat balance carries no spread (official). US card: Visa rate plus 1% (official, krak.app/pricing). Scored on the European product. official
FundingVirtual card free, plastic card free, delivery free; plastic replacement €4.99 or £4.99; metal card free with a 30-day average balance of €50,000 or £50,000, metal replacement €60 or £60 (official, krak.app/pricing and krak.app/card, checked 20 Oct 2026). Crypto deposits free, SEPA and Faster Payments deposits free; card, Apple Pay or Google Pay deposits cost €0.25 plus 3.75% (official, krak.app/pricing). Instant Buy/Sell conversion is a fixed 1%, and a variable, unpublished spread applies when crypto or stablecoin is sold at the point of spending (official, krak.app/pricing). No monthly, annual or inactivity fee (official, FAQ). official
ATMKrak charges no ATM fee in any region; third-party operator fees may apply; no free allowance is stated (official, krak.app/pricing, checked 20 Oct 2026).
TiersStarter, Lite, Pro, Elite, Max, based on 30-day average balance; tier thresholds are not published in the FAQ. Metal card for Max members with a €50,000, £50,000 or $50,000 average balance (official).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

Starter 0%, Lite 0.5%, Pro 1%, Elite 1.5%, Max 2%, set by a 30-day rolling average balance across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro; paid in Bitcoin or fiat; new users may get the Max rate for the first 30 days, subject to geographic limits (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026). Blog says cashback is paid weekly (official, 13 Jul 2026). US page adds up to 6% on travel booked through Krak (official, krak.app/card).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

"Currently available to verified Kraken users in the UK and EEA" (official, Kraken Card FAQ, 8 Oct 2026). A US version is open to "eligible residents in most U.S. states", with New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana excluded (official, krak.app/card). No UAE or Saudi offer found. Not waitlist-only. official

Identity checks: Full Kraken identity verification before the card can be ordered (official, Kraken Card FAQ).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Kraken's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Kraken Card FAQ, last updated 8 Oct 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Krak card page official · checked 20 October 2026Krak pricing page official · checked 20 October 2026Kraken blog, Introducing the Kraken Card, 13 Jul 2026, modified 25 Aug 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Kraken EEA Terms of Service, effective 14 Oct 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Bank of Lithuania licence register, UAB Monavate official · checked 20 October 2026Kraken card disputes and unauthorised transactions, last updated 8 Oct 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Overview of Auto Earn on Kraken, last updated 16 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Kraken press release on Business Wire, 25 Nov 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026SEC press release 2023-25, Feb 2023 official · checked 20 October 2026Decrypt, Kraken launches bitcoin rewards debit Mastercard, 25 Nov 2025 third-party · checked 20 October 2026Payment Expert, Kraken's EU bank licence application in Lithuania, 8 Jul 2026 third-party · checked 8 July 2026

CBL may earn a referral fee if you sign up through a link on this page. Referral links never change the Card Score.

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Krak Card vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Krak Card vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Krak Card vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Krak Card vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Krak Card vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Krak Card vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
11/16Krak Card vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Krak Card vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Krak Card vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Krak Card vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Krak Card vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Krak Card vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Krak Card vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Krak Card vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Krak Card vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Krak Card vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Krak Card vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Krak Card vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Krak Card vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Krak Card vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Krak Card vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Krak Card vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Krak Card vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Krak Card vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Krak Card vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Krak Card vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Krak Card vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Krak Card vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Krak Card vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Krak Card vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Krak Card vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Krak Card vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Krak Card vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Krak Card vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Krak Card vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Krak Card vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Krak Card vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Krak Card vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Krak Card vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Krak Card vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →