KartaKarta

Visit Karta →

Karta scores 9 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Karta Finance, Visa. Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified. Third National named; no licence or regulator.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. The issuer is named only as Third National with no licence or regulator disclosed, Karta Finance Inc. states it is not a bank, and no safeguarding statement was found while the homepage and help centre disagree on who holds the keys (official).

CBL Card Score: 9 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody1 of 2Conflicting statements. The homepage says "Self-custody crypto wallets" and "Only you control your wallet" (official, karta.io, checked 20 Oct 2026). The help centre says deposited money sits in "your unique Fireblocks wallet address" and presents this as control without managing private keys yourself, which reads as Karta holding the keys (official, help centre, 11 Feb 2025). The card terms do not address custody, safeguarding or segregation (official, effective 5 May 2026). Scored as custodial with a per-user wallet address.official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence1 of 2"The issuer for this card program is Third National" (official, card terms, effective 5 May 2026). No bank or EMI licence, regulator or register reference is published by Karta or on Rain's legal pages (official, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability2 of 2"Available to citizens and residents of most countries, with the exception of those listed in our unsupported countries list"; the full list is held by support and not published (official, help centre, 20 Oct 2025). The card does not work in Syria, Iran, Cuba, North Korea, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela (official, help centre, 4 Nov 2025). Cardholders must attest they are not US citizens, and the card is for persons outside the US (official, card terms). SEPA top-ups in EUR are offered (official, fees article, 3 Sep 2026). The Apple Pay article treats residents of the UK, EU states, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman as cardholders (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). No positive country list exists, so EU, UK and Gulf service rests on the "most countries" statement.official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase1 of 2Karta's balance is held in USDT, so every purchase in a currency other than US dollars carries a Visa international transaction fee of 1%, which Karta says is "separate from Karta's fees" (official, help centre, 26 Feb 2026 and 3 Sep 2026). The card terms allow a foreign exchange fee, a cross-border fee and foreign transaction fees of "up to 3%" each (official, card terms, effective 5 May 2026). A separate 1.5% card payment fee applies to all purchases in any currency, recorded under funding. Scored at the published 1% rate.official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost0 of 2Stablecoin top-ups free on Polygon, Base, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum, Solana and Ethereum; TRC-20 costs 5.90 USDT. SEPA (EUR) 1% plus 2 USDT; ACH 0.30% plus 2.50 USDT; SWIFT 0.30% plus 37.50 USDT. Virtual card 5 USDT (shown as reduced from 30 USDT); reissue 15 USDT. Plastic card 99 USDT, metal card 299 USDT, both on preorder with delivery charged separately by country and first shipments planned for October 2026 (official, fees article, 3 Sep 2026; preorder FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). Card payment fee 1.5% on every purchase (official, fees article, 26 Feb 2026). No monthly, annual or inactivity fees (official). Conversions at a mid-market rate with no separate fee listed (official). The 1.5% charge on every payment and the paid physical card set the score.official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay2 of 2"Compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay" (official, karta.io); the help centre carries separate Apple Pay and Google Pay guides, with Apple Pay limited to residents of countries on Apple's own list (official, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy2 of 2Card terms: disputes or errors must be reported within 60 days after the charge appears on a periodic statement, chargebacks are started through the Karta account under card network rules, and no review time is stated (official, effective 5 May 2026). Help centre: disputes go through the support team and "can take 30 to 90 days to resolve" (official, 25 Mar 2026). Unauthorised use is reported by email to support@karta.io; the phone number in the terms is blank (official). Lock and unlock is in the app (official, help centre).official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance0 of 2None found on the site, the fees article or the help centre (official, checked 20 Oct 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 9 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 20269 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyKarta Finance Inc., Wilmington, Delaware, USA, which calls itself "a financial technology company, not a bank" (official, karta.io, checked 20 Oct 2026). Card terms are governed by Puerto Rico law with arbitration seated in New York (official, legal.karta.io/b2c-card-terms, effective 5 May 2026). The card is issued by Third National under licence from Visa; no licence type or regulator is given (official, card terms). Third National is a trading name used within the Rain group, whose privacy notice lists Signify Holdings, Inc. and Rain Payments Services, Inc. as affiliates (official, Rain legal site, Jun 2026); a trade outlet reports it is operated by a Rain entity called Nimbus (third-party: TechFlow, checked 20 Oct 2026). This is a different company from the Miami-based "Karta" that sells US credit cards to private banking clients (third-party: Fortune, 17 Jun 2026). The app and help centre use "Karta Personal"; the card is the "Karta Visa Card".
NetworkVisa, described as a Visa Signature card (official). official
RailsKarta Finance Inc. names Third National as the card issuer under licence from Visa, with no licence type or regulator given (official). Deposited funds sit at a per-user Fireblocks wallet address according to the help centre, while the homepage describes the wallet as self-custody (official).
Websitekarta.io
Health tagWatch The issuer is named only as Third National with no licence or regulator disclosed, Karta Finance Inc. states it is not a bank, and no safeguarding statement was found while the homepage and help centre disagree on who holds the keys (official).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Card terms: disputes or errors must be reported within 60 days after the charge appears on a periodic statement, chargebacks are started through the Karta account under card network rules, and no review time is stated (official, effective 5 May 2026). Help centre: disputes go through the support team and "can take 30 to 90 days to resolve" (official, 25 Mar 2026). Unauthorised use is reported by email to support@karta.io; the phone number in the terms is blank (official). Lock and unlock is in the app (official, help centre).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FXKarta's balance is held in USDT, so every purchase in a currency other than US dollars carries a Visa international transaction fee of 1%, which Karta says is "separate from Karta's fees" (official, help centre, 26 Feb 2026 and 3 Sep 2026). The card terms allow a foreign exchange fee, a cross-border fee and foreign transaction fees of "up to 3%" each (official, card terms, effective 5 May 2026). A separate 1.5% card payment fee applies to all purchases in any currency, recorded under funding. Scored at the published 1% rate. official
FundingStablecoin top-ups free on Polygon, Base, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum, Solana and Ethereum; TRC-20 costs 5.90 USDT. SEPA (EUR) 1% plus 2 USDT; ACH 0.30% plus 2.50 USDT; SWIFT 0.30% plus 37.50 USDT. Virtual card 5 USDT (shown as reduced from 30 USDT); reissue 15 USDT. Plastic card 99 USDT, metal card 299 USDT, both on preorder with delivery charged separately by country and first shipments planned for October 2026 (official, fees article, 3 Sep 2026; preorder FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). Card payment fee 1.5% on every purchase (official, fees article, 26 Feb 2026). No monthly, annual or inactivity fees (official). Conversions at a mid-market rate with no separate fee listed (official). The 1.5% charge on every payment and the paid physical card set the score. official
ATM1 USDT plus 2.5% per successful withdrawal, 1 USDT per declined withdrawal, plus any operator fee (official, help centre, 26 Feb 2026). The homepage lists 1.5% plus 1 USDT instead (official, checked 20 Oct 2026).
TiersNo tiers. Card types are virtual (5 USDT), plastic (99 USDT) and metal (299 USDT) (official, 3 Sep 2026).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

The homepage meta text claims "25% cashback on purchases", but the page body only describes earning from referred friends' spending and no rate on the cardholder's own purchases is published; the fees articles do not mention cashback (official, karta.io and help centre, checked 20 Oct 2026).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

"Available to citizens and residents of most countries, with the exception of those listed in our unsupported countries list"; the full list is held by support and not published (official, help centre, 20 Oct 2025). The card does not work in Syria, Iran, Cuba, North Korea, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela (official, help centre, 4 Nov 2025). Cardholders must attest they are not US citizens, and the card is for persons outside the US (official, card terms). SEPA top-ups in EUR are offered (official, fees article, 3 Sep 2026). The Apple Pay article treats residents of the UK, EU states, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman as cardholders (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). No positive country list exists, so EU, UK and Gulf service rests on the "most countries" statement. official

Identity checks: Identity verification with an accepted ID document before the card is issued (official, help centre article titles, checked 20 Oct 2026).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Karta Finance's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Karta homepage official · checked 20 October 2026Fees for using Karta Personal, help centre, 3 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Fees for spending, help centre, 26 Feb 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Karta card terms, effective 5 May 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Who can get a Karta Personal card, help centre, 20 Oct 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026Countries where the card does not work, help centre, 4 Nov 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026Disputing a card transaction, help centre, 25 Mar 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026How your money is stored, help centre, 11 Feb 2025 official · checked 20 October 2026Is Karta Personal a bank, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Preorder physical cards FAQ, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Apple Pay unsupported country article, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Spend with Karta Personal collection, help centre official · checked 20 October 2026Rain account-opening privacy notice for Third National, Jun 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026TechFlow on Rain's issuing structure third-party · checked 20 October 2026Fortune on the unrelated Miami Karta credit card, 17 Jun 2026 third-party · checked 17 June 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Karta vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Karta vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Karta vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Karta vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Karta vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Karta vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Karta vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Karta vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Karta vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Karta vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Karta vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Karta vs Ethena Pay
Self-custodial; user holds the keys · About 1% network fee, no markup
10/16Karta vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Karta vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Karta vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Karta vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Karta vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Karta vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Karta vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Karta vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Karta vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Karta vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Karta vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Karta vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Karta vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Karta vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Karta vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Karta vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Karta vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Karta vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Karta vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Karta vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Karta vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Karta vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Karta vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Karta vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Karta vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Karta vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Karta vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Karta vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →