Ethena PayEthena Pay

Visit Ethena Pay →

Ethena Pay scores 10 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Ethena Pay, Visa. Self-custodial; user holds the keys. Third National via Rain; no licence shown.

Health Check · checked 20 October 2026

Watch. Self-custody and complaint timelines are documented, but Ethena Pay Ltd. states it holds no financial services authorisation, the issuer Third National publishes no licence or regulator, and the spending balance is USDe, a synthetic dollar outside any deposit scheme (official).

CBL Card Score: 10 of 16

CriterionPointsWhat we foundSource
Custody2 of 2Self-custodial. "Ethena Pay is non-custodial" and "never holds your money" (official, pay.ethena.fi). The terms say the user is "solely responsible" for private keys and seed phrases, Ethena Pay cannot recover lost keys, and balances are records tied to self-custodial wallets; embedded wallet features may be provided by Privy (official, terms of use, updated 22 Sep 2026). The disclaimer repeats that the company does not "hold, manage, custody, or otherwise have access to your funds" (official, 1 Sep 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Issuer and licence1 of 2Card terms: issued by Third National under licence from Visa, with Signify Holdings, Inc. d/b/a Rain as programme manager (official, effective 1 Jun 2026). The public pages name no issuer and say only "issued by a card issuer under license from the card network" (official, legal hub and FAQ, checked 20 Oct 2026). No licence type, regulator or register entry is published for Third National (official, checked 20 Oct 2026; Rain's own privacy notice gives only a phone number and website, official Rain legal site, Jun 2026).official
checked 20 October 2026
Availability0 of 2Live on iOS in the 47 countries listed in Appendix 1 of the terms: 17 in Latin America, 11 in the Caribbean, eight in Asia and the Middle East including the United Arab Emirates, nine in Africa, plus Australia and New Zealand (official, terms Appendix 1, updated 22 Sep 2026; FAQ says 48). No EU state, the UK or Saudi Arabia is on the list, and the Spend Card is "offered only to non-U.S. persons" (official, card terms and download page). EU and US support is planned, with EUR marked "coming soon", and users elsewhere can join a waitlist (official, blog, 3 Sep 2026; download page, checked 20 Oct 2026). Open to new users in listed countries with no invite step found (official).official
checked 20 October 2026
FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase1 of 2"Typically around 1.0%, passed through directly from the applicable card network with no markup"; the page adds that Ethena Pay "charges no foreign exchange fee, no cross-border fee, and no markup of any kind on currency conversion", and that the 1% figure is typical, not a cap (official, pricing page, effective 1 Sep 2026, updated 30 Sep 2026). The network fee reaches the cardholder, so this is scored at 1%.official
checked 20 October 2026
Funding cost1 of 2Account opening, monthly maintenance, inactivity, closure, virtual card issuance, replacement card and activation all free (official, pricing page). USD, EUR and GBP bank transfers in are free; other bank transfers 0.05% to 0.1% (third-party: The Block, 1 Sep 2026). Crypto deposits carry gas and any MoonPay / Iron fee shown at transaction time; no Ethena Pay fee is listed (official, pricing page). Physical card price and delivery not found on the pricing page, card terms or FAQ (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). Pro "is available via subscription or referrals"; the Standard tier is free (official, pay.ethena.fi).official
checked 20 October 2026
Apple Pay and Google Pay1 of 2"Add to Apple Pay in seconds" and "Google Pay available soon" (official, pay.ethena.fi, checked 20 Oct 2026). The launch post of 3 Sep 2026 said virtual cards can be added to Apple Pay or Google Wallet (official, blog). The current homepage wording governs.official
checked 20 October 2026
Freeze and dispute policy2 of 2Card terms: a disputed charge or error must be reported within 60 days after it posts to the periodic statement; try the merchant first, then start a chargeback through the Ethena Pay account under card network rules; lost, stolen or unauthorised use goes to support@ethenapay.co or 1-844-ETHA-PAY; no investigation time in days (official, effective 1 Jun 2026). Complaints procedure: acknowledgement within five business days, final response targeted within 15 business days and no later than 35, internal escalation answered in ten business days, external route to the Malta Office of the Arbiter for Financial Services where it has jurisdiction and the EU ODR platform for EU consumers (official, 1 Sep 2026). No card freeze article found (official, FAQ).official
checked 20 October 2026
Yield on idle balance2 of 2The balance earns "the prevailing USDe base rate, which we do not set", plus a Daily Boost paid in USDe: Standard 5% a year on balances up to $5,000, Pro 6% up to $100,000, VIP 6% up to $1,000,000, with the underlying USDe rate above the cap (official, pricing page, updated 30 Sep 2026). "Nothing to stake, nothing to lock and nothing to opt into" (official, blog, 3 Sep 2026). The Boost needs at least one qualifying card transaction per calendar month and is discretionary, not interest and not insured (official, pricing page). Free tier, no lock.official
checked 20 October 2026

Total 10 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.

Score history

20 October 202610 of 16First score

Standing

CompanyEthena Pay Ltd., a private limited company in Malta, company number C 114576, which states it is "not licensed or authorised by any financial services regulator in your country" and does not itself perform regulated banking, payment, digital asset or custodial activity (official, terms of use Appendix 1, updated 22 Sep 2026; disclaimers, 1 Sep 2026). The product belongs to Ethena, the issuer of USDe: ethena.fi links to pay.ethena.fi from its Products menu (official, ethena.fi, checked 20 Oct 2026). Card programme management, technology and servicing by Signify Holdings, Inc. d/b/a Rain; issuer Third National under licence from Visa (official, card terms, effective 1 Jun 2026). On-ramp, off-ramp and bank transfers through MoonPay / Iron (official, pricing page, updated 30 Sep 2026).
NetworkVisa (official, card terms). The card is the Ethena Pay Spend Card. official
RailsThird National issues the card under licence from Visa with Rain (Signify Holdings, Inc.) as programme manager (official, card terms). Ethena Pay Ltd. supplies the app and never holds funds; USDe sits in the user's own wallet, and fiat rails run through MoonPay / Iron (official).
Websitepay.ethena.fi
Health tagWatch Self-custody and complaint timelines are documented, but Ethena Pay Ltd. states it holds no financial services authorisation, the issuer Third National publishes no licence or regulator, and the spending balance is USDe, a synthetic dollar outside any deposit scheme (official).
Last checked20 October 2026

When it goes wrong

Card terms: a disputed charge or error must be reported within 60 days after it posts to the periodic statement; try the merchant first, then start a chargeback through the Ethena Pay account under card network rules; lost, stolen or unauthorised use goes to support@ethenapay.co or 1-844-ETHA-PAY; no investigation time in days (official, effective 1 Jun 2026). Complaints procedure: acknowledgement within five business days, final response targeted within 15 business days and no later than 35, internal escalation answered in ten business days, external route to the Malta Office of the Arbiter for Financial Services where it has jurisdiction and the EU ODR platform for EU consumers (official, 1 Sep 2026). No card freeze article found (official, FAQ).

The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.

Costs

FX"Typically around 1.0%, passed through directly from the applicable card network with no markup"; the page adds that Ethena Pay "charges no foreign exchange fee, no cross-border fee, and no markup of any kind on currency conversion", and that the 1% figure is typical, not a cap (official, pricing page, effective 1 Sep 2026, updated 30 Sep 2026). The network fee reaches the cardholder, so this is scored at 1%. official
FundingAccount opening, monthly maintenance, inactivity, closure, virtual card issuance, replacement card and activation all free (official, pricing page). USD, EUR and GBP bank transfers in are free; other bank transfers 0.05% to 0.1% (third-party: The Block, 1 Sep 2026). Crypto deposits carry gas and any MoonPay / Iron fee shown at transaction time; no Ethena Pay fee is listed (official, pricing page). Physical card price and delivery not found on the pricing page, card terms or FAQ (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). Pro "is available via subscription or referrals"; the Standard tier is free (official, pay.ethena.fi). official
ATM$1.00 plus 0.65% of the amount, where ATM access is available, plus any operator surcharge (official, pricing page).
TiersStandard free. Pro by subscription or referrals; VIP by referrals or locked ENA; premium tier prices are "presented at enrollment" rather than on the pricing page (official, pay.ethena.fi and pricing page). A launch report gives Pro as a $2,000 ENA lock or ten referrals and VIP as a $10,000 ENA lock or 50 referrals (third-party: The Block, 1 Sep 2026).

Cashback, as of 20 Oct 2026

Paid in AVAX once daily after settlement, by monthly spend band. Standard 4% on the first $2,500, 1% to $4,000, nothing above. Pro 4.5% on the first $8,000, 2% to $10,000, 1% to $12,000, 0.5% above. VIP 5% on the first $20,000, 2% to $30,000, 1% to $40,000, 0.5% above. Minimum qualifying transaction $1; reversed on refunds or chargebacks (official, pricing page, updated 30 Sep 2026; FAQ).

Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.

Availability

Live on iOS in the 47 countries listed in Appendix 1 of the terms: 17 in Latin America, 11 in the Caribbean, eight in Asia and the Middle East including the United Arab Emirates, nine in Africa, plus Australia and New Zealand (official, terms Appendix 1, updated 22 Sep 2026; FAQ says 48). No EU state, the UK or Saudi Arabia is on the list, and the Spend Card is "offered only to non-U.S. persons" (official, card terms and download page). EU and US support is planned, with EUR marked "coming soon", and users elsewhere can join a waitlist (official, blog, 3 Sep 2026; download page, checked 20 Oct 2026). Open to new users in listed countries with no invite step found (official). official

Identity checks: Identity verification; users must be 18 or older (official, FAQ and terms).

What we still need confirmed

Facts marked official come from Ethena Pay's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:

Sources

Ethena Pay homepage official · checked 20 October 2026Pricing, effective 1 Sep 2026, updated 30 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Spend Card Terms, effective 1 Jun 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Terms of Use with Appendix 1 country terms, updated 22 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026User Complaint Procedure, 1 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Disclaimer and Important Notices, 1 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Legal hub official · checked 20 October 2026FAQ official · checked 20 October 2026Download page official · checked 20 October 2026Introducing Ethena Pay, blog, 3 Sep 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026Ethena main site linking to Ethena Pay official · checked 20 October 2026Rain account-opening privacy notice for Third National, Jun 2026 official · checked 20 October 2026The Block launch report, 1 Sep 2026 third-party · checked 1 September 2026TechFlow on Rain's issuing structure third-party · checked 20 October 2026

See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.

Compare

13/16Ethena Pay vs Wirex One
Self-custodial wallet, card settlement route not stated · 0% FX, variable spread on crypto sales
13/16Ethena Pay vs ether.fi Cash
Self-custodial · About 1% to 1.5% on Core
12/16Ethena Pay vs Bleap Card
Self-custodial MPC wallet; issuer holds no funds · 0% markup; Mastercard rate applies
12/16Ethena Pay vs COCA Card
Self-custodial smart wallet; per-payment approval · 0% FX on direct pairs
12/16Ethena Pay vs Gemini Credit Card
Custodial rewards; Gemini Trust states segregation · No foreign transaction fees
12/16Ethena Pay vs Gnosis Pay Card
Self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain · 0% from Gnosis Pay; Visa rate applies
12/16Ethena Pay vs Krak Card
Custodial; e-money wallet safeguarded by Payward Ireland · 0% FX, Mastercard rate, no markup
11/16Ethena Pay vs Bitpanda Card
Custodial; crypto segregated under MiCA · 0% from Bitpanda; Visa rate applies
11/16Ethena Pay vs KAST
Custodial, no segregation duty stated · 0.5% to 1.75%, by country
11/16Ethena Pay vs MetaMask Card
Self-custodial; spends straight from your wallet · Mastercard rate plus 1% cross-border fee
10/16Ethena Pay vs Venmo Credit Card
Custodial; crypto held apart from PayPal Digital assets · No foreign transaction fee
10/16Ethena Pay vs Plasma One
Self-custodial; keys held via Privy · 1% markup plus Visa fee on Lite
9/16Ethena Pay vs CL Card
Self-custody until loaded; e-money safeguarded by Monavate · 0% issuer FX; platform margin unconfirmed
9/16Ethena Pay vs SavePay Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · USD from USD balance, free exchange
9/16Ethena Pay vs Karta
Per-user Fireblocks wallet; self-custody claim unverified · 1% Visa fee on non-USD spend
9/16Ethena Pay vs RedotPay
Custodial, segregated, own trust company · 1.2%, about 2.2% all-in
9/16Ethena Pay vs Fold Card
Dollars at Sutton Bank; bitcoin held at BitGo · $3 per foreign purchase on free tier
9/16Ethena Pay vs Nexo Card
Custodial; Tangany keeps EEA client assets separate · 0.2% in European currencies, 2% elsewhere
9/16Ethena Pay vs Tuyo Card
Self-custodial; USDC stays in your smart account · 1% non-USD plus 1% outside the US
8/16Ethena Pay vs imToken Card (Fiat24)
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No FX fee in USD, EUR, CHF, RMB
8/16Ethena Pay vs Avici Card
Self-custodial escrow contract your wallet owns · 0% Avici markup; Visa charges about 1%
8/16Ethena Pay vs Brighty Card
Custodial; partners hold segregated fiat and crypto · 0.6% on the free plan
8/16Ethena Pay vs Bybit Card
Custodial, MiCA segregation stated · 0.5%, plus 0.9% to spend crypto
8/16Ethena Pay vs Deblock Debit Card
Euros safeguarded by Deblock; crypto self-custodied · 0% to €1,000 a month, then 0.5%
8/16Ethena Pay vs Oobit
Connected wallet or custodial app balance · Up to 1.5% in the terms, about 3.1% measured
8/16Ethena Pay vs SafePal Mastercard
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · 1% on non-USD settlement
8/16Ethena Pay vs THORWallet Card
Self-custodial wallet; card balance held by Unblock · 1.5% on top of Mastercard rate
8/16Ethena Pay vs Coinbase Card
Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC · No official FX rate published
7/16Ethena Pay vs TP Card
Tokenised deposit in own wallet; Fiat24 can block · No transaction fee in USD, EUR, CHF
7/16Ethena Pay vs Bitget Wallet Card
Separate card account, custody not stated · Free inside a monthly allowance, about 1.7% beyond
7/16Ethena Pay vs Wayex Visa Card
Custodial; custodian unnamed, no segregation statement · 0% in USD, 1.5% in any other currency
7/16Ethena Pay vs Crypto.com Visa Card
Custodial; no EEA safeguarding statement found · 2% outside Europe on the free tier
7/16Ethena Pay vs Tria Card
Self-custodial; collateral stays in your wallet · Up to 3% plus 1% in the terms
6/16Ethena Pay vs Bitrefill Card
Crypto yours until top-up; euros held by partners · 0% FX at the Visa rate
6/16Ethena Pay vs WhiteBIT Nova
Custodial; spends from exchange Main balance · 1.5% conversion fee on the USD card
6/16Ethena Pay vs Binance Card
Custodial; no safeguarding statement found · 1% to 2% on foreign currency
6/16Ethena Pay vs Fiat24 Debit Card
Cash tokens in your wallet; fiat with Fiat24 · Conversion fee not published
5/16Ethena Pay vs Kripicard
Custodial; unnamed bank holds the fiat balance · 0% FX fee on USD-billed virtual cards
5/16Ethena Pay vs Zypto Premium VISA Card
Self-custody wallet; loaded balance held by issuer · 1.75% on every non-USD purchase
4/16Ethena Pay vs Plutus Card
Custodial; segregated accounts at an unnamed partner · 2.5% on non-domestic transactions
Every card, ranked →