Coinbase CardCoinbase Card scores 8 of 16 on the CBL Card Score. Coinbase, Visa. Custodial; Coinbase says it cannot use your USDC. Pathward bank in US; Paysafe EMI in UK.
Watch. Issued by a US bank and an FCA e-money institution, and the SEC dropped its case against Coinbase in February 2025, but the European card's status is unclear on Coinbase's own pages and no safeguarding statement for card balances was found (official pages; third-party: Fortune, 21 Feb 2025).
| Criterion | Points | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Custody | 1 of 2 | Custodial. The card spends from the Coinbase account; crypto is converted to USD or GBP at purchase (official, coinbase.com/card). For USDC, Coinbase states "Coinbase does not have the right to use any USDC you hold in your account" and that USDC balances are not deposit accounts (official, USDC Rewards FAQ). No safeguarding statement for card balances was found on the card pages. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Issuer and licence | 2 of 2 | US: Pathward, N.A., a national bank, Member FDIC (official, coinbase.com/card). UK: Paysafe Financial Services Limited, FCA e-money authorisation, FRN 900015 (official, coinbase.com/en-gb/card; official, paysafe.com regulatory disclosures). EEA issuer not found. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Availability | 0 of 2 | US: "Coinbase Card is available for all Coinbase customers who live in the US (excluding Hawaii)" (official, coinbase.com/card). UK: "Coinbase Card is available for all Coinbase customers who live in the UK" (official, coinbase.com/en-gb/card). EEA: the German-language card page says the card is available only to US residents (official, coinbase.com/de/card, checked 20 Oct 2026); third parties report an EEA card across 30 or 31 countries (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026; DefiLlama, 28 Sep 2026). No Gulf offer found. Open to new users, no waitlist. Only the UK is confirmed among EU, UK and Gulf. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| FX fee on a foreign-currency purchase | 0 of 2 | Not found on official pages. The UK page says "There are no fees for spending Pound Sterling (£)" and no fee for spending crypto or USDC, with no foreign-currency rate given (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). Third parties report 0% FX for US cardholders (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026) and a UK international fee of 0.2% to 3% (third-party: Finder, 18 Oct 2023). Scored on the European cardholder with no official figure. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Funding cost | 1 of 2 | No annual fee, no fee for spending USD, GBP or USDC (official, coinbase.com/card and en-gb/card). A spread applies when Coinbase sells other crypto to fund a purchase; no percentage is published (official). Physical card issuance fee not stated on official pages; third parties report no issuance fee in the US (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026) and conflicting UK figures of £4.95 or free (third-party: Finder, 18 Oct 2023). Virtual card cost not stated. No monthly or inactivity fee found. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
| Apple Pay and Google Pay | 2 of 2 | Not stated on the official card pages. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay reported (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026). | third-party checked 20 October 2026 |
| Freeze and dispute policy | 1 of 2 | No dispute article could be fetched from the help centre in this check. Third party reports that disputes and chargebacks follow the Visa process in the cardholder agreement, with Visa zero liability for unauthorised transactions, and no timelines are given (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026). For the Coinbase One Card, the cardholder agreement sets a billing-error window of 60 days after the error appears on the statement and caps unauthorised-use liability at $50 (official, Cardless cardholder agreement, effective 11 May 2026). | third-party checked 20 October 2026 |
| Yield on idle balance | 1 of 2 | USDC Rewards pay weekly on USDC held in the Coinbase account, with no lock; withdrawing the full balance keeps rewards already earned (official, USDC Rewards FAQ). In the US and UK a Coinbase One membership is required, and rates "can vary by country" and are shown only inside the account (official). The EEA is not on the eligible list. | official checked 20 October 2026 |
Total 8 of 16. Official means the company's own site, terms or help centre. Third-party means a named review site with its own check date; a third-party fact is reported, not verified, and the score stands until an official source confirms or contradicts it.
| 20 October 2026 | 8 of 16 | First score |
| Company | Coinbase. US card issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with Marqeta as programme manager (official, coinbase.com/card). UK card issued by Paysafe Financial Services Limited, authorised and regulated by the FCA for the issuance of electronic money, FRN 900015 (official, coinbase.com/en-gb/card; official, Paysafe regulatory disclosures). Coinbase One Card issued by First Electronic Bank on the American Express network, with Cardless as programme partner (official, coinbase.com/creditcard; official, Cardless). Scored product: the Coinbase Card, the Visa debit card, which is open to new users in the US and the UK today (official). The Coinbase One Card, an American Express credit card launched in 2025 and open only in the United States with a paid Coinbase One membership, is recorded under tiers and is not the scored product. |
| Network | Visa (official). The Coinbase One Card runs on American Express (official). official |
| Rails | In the US the card is issued by Pathward, N.A., a bank, with Marqeta as processor (official). In the UK it is issued by Paysafe Financial Services Limited, an FCA e-money institution (official). Funds spend from the Coinbase account, where crypto is converted to fiat at the time of purchase (official). |
| Website | www.coinbase.com/card |
| Health tag | Watch Issued by a US bank and an FCA e-money institution, and the SEC dropped its case against Coinbase in February 2025, but the European card's status is unclear on Coinbase's own pages and no safeguarding statement for card balances was found (official pages; third-party: Fortune, 21 Feb 2025). |
| Last checked | 20 October 2026 |
No dispute article could be fetched from the help centre in this check. Third party reports that disputes and chargebacks follow the Visa process in the cardholder agreement, with Visa zero liability for unauthorised transactions, and no timelines are given (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026). For the Coinbase One Card, the cardholder agreement sets a billing-error window of 60 days after the error appears on the statement and caps unauthorised-use liability at $50 (official, Cardless cardholder agreement, effective 11 May 2026).
The dispute route, in order: the company's own support desk, then the card network's chargeback rules, then the regulator of the issuer where one is named. A frozen card is a question, not a verdict: the Frozen Account Survival Kit applies to cards too.
| FX | Not found on official pages. The UK page says "There are no fees for spending Pound Sterling (£)" and no fee for spending crypto or USDC, with no foreign-currency rate given (official, checked 20 Oct 2026). Third parties report 0% FX for US cardholders (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026) and a UK international fee of 0.2% to 3% (third-party: Finder, 18 Oct 2023). Scored on the European cardholder with no official figure. official |
| Funding | No annual fee, no fee for spending USD, GBP or USDC (official, coinbase.com/card and en-gb/card). A spread applies when Coinbase sells other crypto to fund a purchase; no percentage is published (official). Physical card issuance fee not stated on official pages; third parties report no issuance fee in the US (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026) and conflicting UK figures of £4.95 or free (third-party: Finder, 18 Oct 2023). Virtual card cost not stated. No monthly or inactivity fee found. official |
| ATM | Coinbase charges no ATM fee in the US or UK; operator fees may apply (official, coinbase.com/card and en-gb/card). US ATM limit $1,000 per 24 hours (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026). A 1.5% ATM fee was reported for the UK card (third-party: Finder, 18 Oct 2023). |
| Tiers | Coinbase Card has no tiers. Coinbase One Card needs Coinbase One, Basic from $49.99 a year on an annual plan, with no annual card fee; a Security Deposit version takes a USDC deposit "as low as $100" that cannot be traded or withdrawn (official, coinbase.com/creditcard). Purchase APR 19.49% to 29.49% variable, cash advance APR 32.24%, foreign transaction fee $0, late fee up to $41 (official, cardholder agreement, 11 May 2026). |
US only: variable crypto reward, "Check your app for the most updated rate" (official, coinbase.com/card, checked 20 Oct 2026); historically up to 4% (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026). No cashback on the UK card found. Coinbase One Card: 2%, 2.5%, 3% or 4% in Bitcoin by assets held on Coinbase, higher tiers capped at $10,000 of purchases a month; 5% on travel bookings (official, coinbase.com/creditcard).
Cashback is a dated fact, not part of the Card Score. Promo rates change too often to score.
US: "Coinbase Card is available for all Coinbase customers who live in the US (excluding Hawaii)" (official, coinbase.com/card). UK: "Coinbase Card is available for all Coinbase customers who live in the UK" (official, coinbase.com/en-gb/card). EEA: the German-language card page says the card is available only to US residents (official, coinbase.com/de/card, checked 20 Oct 2026); third parties report an EEA card across 30 or 31 countries (third-party: CryptoSlate, 3 Oct 2026; DefiLlama, 28 Sep 2026). No Gulf offer found. Open to new users, no waitlist. Only the UK is confirmed among EU, UK and Gulf. official
Identity checks: Full Coinbase identity verification; the US page cites USA PATRIOT Act checks with name, address, date of birth and ID (official, coinbase.com/card).
Facts marked official come from Coinbase's own pages or terms. Facts marked third-party are reported by a named review site and count as reported, not verified. These items are open for the next Monday sweep:
See a mistake? Email hi@cryptobanklist.com. Every factual correction is logged on our corrections page.